dum de dum dum

Nope, this isn’t Dragnet. (I know… most of you are too young to sing along…)

Bringing lunch to work is working!

It would even be better if I remembered to bolus! Today, turkey sandwich w/ some lettuce, some potato chips, some carrot sticks. BG at lunch time – 98, whoopie! Ate with friends (who are also now doing the “bag” lunch thing), it was nice. Until the Dexcom alerted a DOUBLE ARROW RISE. Huh? Then I was at 206 and my brain (yes, I do have one, it just doesn’t kick in sometimes) said, “Hey dope, did you actually bolus? Or were you so busy doing a happy dance with a 98 before lunch that you forgot…???”

Checked the history button and yup, I forgot to bolus. Dum De Dum Dum…

Bolused just the lunch and by the time I left I was 95. Not bad. By the time I got home (it’s a 5 minute commute) Dexcom is blaring and I’m 59. Hmmm, didn’t feel that coming. But, when opportunity knocks, I take advantage. We have Girl Scout cookies! We have Samoas and Thin Mints. I had a couple of Thin Mints and all was good!

Dinner with my former CDE/Pump Trainer – awesome. I’ll write about it later. But I wish everyone could work with this gal. She’s calm and knowledgeable, and just a nice person to work with if you have diabetes. I think she’s probably a nice person to know even if you don’t have diabetes.

And for fun… The reno continues and here’s a photo of me arriving home. Notice the FedEx package. It’s the Dexcom replacement sensor from last week. I have them delivered to the office so they don’t sit out in the cold.

It’s supposed to snow tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to dum de dum dum

  1. Cara says:

    It happens to the best of us. I did it the other morning. I was low at breakfast so I put off bolusing until after I ate…I just didn’t intend on it being 2 HOURS after I ate. :/ And I always seem to crash w/ a low afterwards too! So annoying. You’d think after having diabetes for 26 years that I’d remember to bolus. :P

  2. Scully says:

    it’s always a major “hand meets face duh” moment when we forget to bolus. Especially because we all do it.. at some point in time.

  3. I hope you had Pringles – they’re my favorite.

  4. Kelly Booth says:

    I heard a rumor that the next generation Dexcom will know when we are eating and instead of beeping, we will hear a voice ask, “did you remember to bolus?”!

    Looks like you have to go thru a maze to get home!

  5. Karen says:

    Oh yup, I’ve done it too. Not often – but just the other night at dinner I forgot to bolus! I guess it’s bound to happen, we aren’t machines (or internal organs, for that mater)!!

Comments are closed.