Barb’s Walk

If I won the lottery, I could give away so much money.

We’re pretty into charitable giving. But, we are also pretty picky, and frugal.

I’d love to contribute to every walk/run/bike by d-bloggers. I can’t.

Last night, I read this:
I can’t do a lot… But I can do something…

Barb is another LADA, like me! We started commenting back and forth after her T2 diagnosis and treatment wasn’t working, and she was then told she had LADA. She lives near Kansas City. I hadn’t known her long at all. In planning a trip to visit our youngest son, also in the KC area, I let Barb know I was coming and I wanted to meet her. She planned a mini-meetup for one night during my visit.

She was also diagnosed with breast cancer that week I visited.

But we had a great time meeting, anyway. She introduced me to Jess and Bob. The dinner meeting was fun and encouraging and I loved getting to know her… and her husband… and Jess and her husband and Bob. I hadn’t read Jess or Bob’s blogs and now I’m a regular at their blogs.

Barb cares about everyone! She’s doing the ACS Relay for Life on June 8th.
June 8th is my mother’s birthday. My mother died of cancer at the age of 66.

And the neat (made me cry) thing? Read this from Barb:

If you’ve been touched by cancer, please help me pay tribute to them all.  Leave a comment below with the name of your loved one and whether they are a survivor or you’re listing their name in memoriam. I will carry the list of survivors during the survivors’ lap and the others as I complete the remaining laps.  Each name will be read, remembered and a part of my walk. As you have all been a part of my journey. . .you should all be a part of my remembrance.

So, if you have a dollar or two to share, visit Barb’s site.
If you have a name to share, visit Barb’s site.
If you haven’t met Barb, go say hello.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Barb’s Walk

  1. Oh Colleen – aren’t meetups just the best?
    So glad you have kept in contact with such a strong and inspiring person.

  2. Great post! Thanks for sharing this. All of those friends are great people, and Barb is so awesome!

  3. babscampbell says:

    Thank you SO MUCH! This meant the world to me Colleen! I really enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again soon!
    You are so thoughtful for linking to my blog. And btw. . Mr. Hoskins is pretty awesome also! Thanks for that comment Mike!

Comments are closed.