Losing Friends

I found all these wonderful people with d-connections beginning in 2005 when I was diagnosed with LADA.

They are wonderful! They’ve answered questions. They’ve calmed me down. They’ve sent me stuff I need. They’ve commented on this blog. They’ve met me. They’ve become friends of the bestest kind.

The problem…

This weekend, the husband of one of them, Ryan, died.

It sucks, big time sucks. Meri posted one of the fantastic photos of Ryan, and I sat and prayed on Sunday morning while looking at his great smile. And then, that afternoon I read that he died Sunday morning.

Finding friends in the DOC has been MasterCard priceless. Meri is one of those friends. I’m not a parent with a diabetic child but she is one of my favorite people. She encouraged me! As most know, she has 4 sons, 3 have Type 1 Diabetes. And she wrote to me with positive, You Can Do This comments.

Whenever I post, I’m reminded of the book, The Little Prince. My favorite part?
“You must be very patient,” replied the fox. “First you will sit down at a little
distance from me–like that–in the grass. I shall look at you out of the corner
of my eye, and you will say nothing. Words are the source of misunderstandings.
But you will sit a little closer to me, every day . . . “

Having Diabetes is not fun. Finding friends in the DOC who take the time to encourage others fills me with love for all of us. Losing one of these friends, makes me very, very sad.

So, let’s all sit a little closer to Meri and her four sons, and show them our love.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Losing Friends

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I cried when I saw that Ryan died. I have never met either of them, but being part of the DOC, you feel like you know them like a best a friend. It was a very sad day.

  2. Liz says:

    Beautiful post. My heart aches for Meri and her sons :(

  3. Yes, I cried too. I still don’t know why bad things happen to good people, and guess that there are many questions during the course of this life that remain unanswerable.

  4. kim says:

    i was shocked when i learned of Ryan’s passing. i have never met Meri and her family, but in reading her blog i felt i knew them. they were family. my heart aches for her and the boys, and i pray that her faith in God sees her through this terrible time.

  5. scully says:

    Gorgeously written. I am touched.

  6. Molly says:

    Ugh. I, too, cried when I read that Ryan had passed. I’m praying for Meri and the boys.

  7. Colleen says:

    My heart hurts for Meri and her family and for you as you grieve this loss. This week we had a scare with my Mom having a minor heart attack. Sort of helps to put diabetes in a new ( and better) light when we are touched directly by how fragile life is. Now, if I could just remember that when I am frustrated by a blood sugar reading……

Comments are closed.