I didn’t do d-blog day…

Choose a form of Media Outlet to write an open letter to, such as NY Times, CNN, Local/National Newspapers, TV and why it is so important for them to let the world know that diabetes is more than just being overweight and having too much sugar. It is about reporting stories about Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes. Let them know what kind of things you would like them to write about. If there are specific articles or reports they got wrong, let them know about it! Let’s get it right!

I tried to write a letter but…

I should have followed Justice’s example and just written a letter to a friend.

I do find it annoying to be standing in line at the pharmacy, looking at the small magazines that proclaim you can cure your diabetes. I also find it annoying to see the ads that show up on my facebook page claiming to have the perfect diabetes cure/diet/whatever. We don’t watch enough TV for me to be familiar with the misleading ads.

I try not to assume anything and probably stupidly, I assume everyone else is the same. A favorite evening out shortly after my diagnosis had an aquaintance look at me and say, “So, educate me about the types of diabetes.”

Another friend, with Type 2, came to my office to let me know about her newest, lowest A1c. She was so, so excited and she didn’t know anyone else who would do a loud, “Allright!” if she told them the number. She’s worked very hard for that number and I was so pleased for her. And it’s lower than mine!

BUT – I am not a mom of a child with diabetes, nor did I have Type 1 as a child. And so, I’m probably not as defensive about Type 1/Type 2. And I probably would be a fiercely, defensive mom of a child with diabetes if someone was ever silly enough to ask if I’d fed him too much sugar. Go watch this from Joanne, if you haven’t seen it.

We live in a predominantly “retirement area” and there are lots of people with Type 2. Sadly, they don’t know that. When they tell me, “I have diabetes, too.” I ask, “Oh, what type?” And they don’t know that they have Type 2. They tell me their doctor just told them they have diabetes and they need to lose weight. That drives me nuttier than the media stuff!

I do agree that media – tv, newspapers, magazines, etc… frequently get it wrong. And I applaud those who take the time to correct them when needed. And yes, I love eating ice cream and will continue to do so, hopefully, for years to come.

And today, November 11th, I remember and thank all veterans. I’m the daughter of one.

 

2 thoughts on “I didn’t do d-blog day…

  1. I forgot to do it! I really need to start putting everything on my calendar, even if I “think” I will remember!

    Congratulations to your friend on her A1c! She is right, most people don’t get it and it is good she has a friend that does!

    One of my neighbors didn’t know there were different types either when I asked her! Doctors like they have are worse than the media.

    Thank you to your Dad for helping to keep us safe!

  2. I totally didn’t do it either. :S
    there’s just too much to be had this month.
    You still made up for it by at least writing a cute post!

Comments are closed.