About my brother…

Some of you might remember that I wrote about my brother being diagnosed with pre-diabetes back in December.

The boy has done damn good. He’s 12 years younger than me. He was going into kindergarten when I left for college. He’s had his own devils throughout his life and it hasn’t been easy.

But he was scared in December. I brought my meter when I picked him up for the appointment and his fasting BG was 175. I tried not to cry.

I went with him to his first appointment where the physician laid it out and said, “You are definitely pre-diabetic.” He went on to say, “This is what you can do.” And the physician talked about labels and carbs and exercise, etc… BUT – Big BUT. My brother was NOT offered any diabetes education, at all. And that really makes me angry.

P-0044Well – except his sister (that would be me) has learned a whole lot in the past few years. And the baby brother has been a good student.

We went to the local drug store and bought a meter.
We sat in the car and I taught him how to use the meter.
We talked about nutrition labels.
We talked about pizza.
We talked about noodles. (Our mom was a big fan of buttered noodles.)

His recent appointment? He’s lost 10 pounds. Yay! His blood tests are ok. Not great, but ok. Thyroid? He’s one of 4 kids and is now the fourth of us to have to take thyroid meds…

He told his physician that his morning bg’s are running 110 – 120. And the physician asked, “Oh, is your sister testing you?”

I’d kept quiet up until then but that was it. I quickly responded, “NO… He has a meter. He knows how to use it. He knows what the numbers mean.”

I’m proud of him.

I’m glad he’s stuck with me as his bossy older sister.

And yes, I told him he could eat pizza – once a year – and he couldn’t eat anything else for a week.

Just kidding. Sort of…

He’s doing ok.

He’s pretty excited that he’s sort of figured this out.

Serving sizes on the nutrition labels fooled him. But he’s getting better at label reading.

But why isn’t more information offered for those with a pre-d diagnosis? What if I hadn’t been there/here?

And to be honest… I’m not so sure he’s really going to end up being a Type 2. So I’ll keep a close look at his numbers and fight for him if he ends up being a LADA Type 1, like his big sister.

And yes, Diabetes, any type – really sucks.

And finally, many of you commented on the December post. I need you to know how very much that meant to me.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to About my brother…

  1. I’m so proud of you for taking it on yourself to educate him – and I think you’re right to be mad that he wasn’t offered any from his care provider.

    If it weren’t for you, your brother might still be scared and confused, but worse yet, totally clueless on what to do to help himself.

  2. Bob Fenton says:

    Continue your educating, there is very little else that can be done and only occasionally will medical insurance consider covering education for people with prediabetes. Most will not even cover medications because ADA only lists it as a risk for diabetes.

    He is lucky you can teach him what he needs to know. Keep it up!!!!

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    I am glad that he has you to help him Colleen! It is really sad that they send people home without even basic information about what they need to do. Even if insurance won’t pay for a meter yet, they should at least be told they could go buy one on their own.

    Pizza once a year? Boy are you tough!

  4. StephenS says:

    Wow, just makes me think how many people are going through this scenario (maybe with the same doctor) all on their own. You are a champion for helping your brother through this.

  5. Scott E says:

    Your brother is so lucky to have you there to help him out. This is exactly why I find all of those disclaimers in articles and publications by non-qualified-professionals saying to “ask your doctor” so laughable (but sadly necessary). Usually the non-qualified ones are more qualified.

  6. Joanne says:

    He is so blessed to have you Colleen… Way to go for taking it upon yourself to educate him!

  7. Karen says:

    No one with any type of diabetes diagnosis is lucky. But he is lucky to have you in his corner, fighting for him and teaching him. I’m so proud of you both.

Comments are closed.