The BG Trading Post

As I drove to work this morning, after waking up HIGH at a stupid, dumb, ridiculous HIGH number – I thought one of you smart d-people should/could come up with a way for us to share/trade/borrow/get rid of or add to our Blood Glucose.

So – for instance – this morning I had a HIGH, stupid, dumb, ridiculous number at 5am… Wouldn’t it be nice if I could just send like 100 BG’s to the person who woke up with a scary low? Or even better – send some of them to the d-kid whose parent who is sooooo tired but just tested their d-kid only to find a low number. Sure, I’ll send some BGs right over through the computer. That would have to be easier than opening the damn straw package for the juice box – and then getting the straw into the hole. Sure!

Or – you’re going low, but you have friends to meet at a fun restaurant/bar/party and would like to raise your BG by about 50 before you drive over to have some fun. You promptly sign in to the BG Trading Post and ask if anyone can share 50 BG’s.

Easy, right?

There wouldn’t be any records to keep because when high, you’d happily share with another d-person who’s gone low.

Kids and adults would be encouraged to be a part of the BG Trading Post!

I can’t do it. Science is not my friend. I took Chemistry in high school and – – – had THE smartest girl in the school as my lab partner. She almost flunked because of me. Even worse, when it came time for the final exam, we had to answer three out of five questions. I did it and the teacher (wherever you are Mr. Sutton I still think of you with extreme gratitude) came and pulled me out of the classroom after he graded my paper. He said, “Colleen, as you transferred here during the year, I really believe that’s been unfair since this class was different from your prior Chemistry Class. If I give you a C for the year, will that be okay with you?” I asked, “Did I get anything on my three?” The answer was no…

YES! I took the C.

So – one of you other – smarter Science type d-people will have to tackle this.

Oh! maybe it could be an APP! I don’t have a smart phone but if someone develops an app to do this – I’d buy one.

Please??

BG now – 96! Nothing to share but as you know, tomorrow is another day…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The BG Trading Post

  1. Debra says:

    Hahahaha, wouldn’t that be amazing!!!:)

  2. gogogone says:

    Yes!thats an awesome idea..next best thing to a cure…we’d all have perfect a1cs!

  3. Karen says:

    Oh I’m totally going to get my Engineer husband on that right now!! We need this!! Even better, we’ll give it away for free so you don’t even have to fight insurance to get it. :)

  4. Pingback: Around the Diabetes Blogosphere - March 2013 Edition : DiabetesMine: the all things diabetes blog

Comments are closed.