We had to buy more orange juice

I used to drink orange juice like other people drink coffee.

Many (many) years ago, I would get up in the morning, grab the frozen concentrate juice from the freezer, add the 3 cans of water, and mix it up in the blender for my morning wake up. It was all frothy and cold and yummy.

Then I learned to like coffee…

Orange juice became my afternoon treat, summer – winter, whenever. I’d even succumbed to buying it in the cartons but I’d always give it a good shake (hoping the top was closed tightly) so I’d still get some of the frothy. You only need to have a loose cap once – to learn to check it carefully for the rest of your life. Orange juice in your hair and on the kitchen floor is a sticky experience.

Then I was dx’d with Type 1 Lada…

T50_OJNoPulp_59The Tropicana 50% juice is pretty good, when I can find it. (Living in the boonies means small grocery stores with limited products.)
(Photo from: http://www.pepsicobeveragefacts.com/) And at 13 carbs for 8 ozs., it’s a pretty good deal!

But it doesn’t froth…

I’m getting to the point of this post, really!

Last week, I had 3 straight nights of low BGs. Pretty low for me. (30′s, 40′s…) Dexcom woke me the first night (and the 2nd and 3rd). I looked at it and said, “Nah, can’t be right.” Sat up, turned on the light. Tested. Then said, “Oh…” Started to stand up and realized I couldn’t – at least not very steadily. So, he who sleeps next to me (and was wide awake now) went to the kitchen and poured a big glass of orange juice. It wasn’t frothy. Waited a bit, tested again, drank a box of grape Juicy Juice. Waited again, and drank another box of grape juice. All the while saying to myself the mantra I’ve learned from years of reading the d-blogs.

Don’t over treat!!!

I didn’t. Yup, three juices did not result in a gargantuan high. Very strange…

And the same thing happened the next two nights.

The only “excuse” I’ve come up with is – I had my pump inset in a brand new spot. Like – a never been touched by an inset spot. Over on my stomach side… AKA – love handle.

Switched it on day three and no more night lows. Hmmm…

So – Orange Juice (the real stuff, not the 50% stuff) went on the grocery list so it can sit in the fridge waiting for me. I’m happy to wait.

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We had to buy more orange juice

  1. Isn’t it crazy how diabetes can act so unusual sometimes?

  2. Karen says:

    Whoa, that was some low streak. But at least you got to enjoy some orange juice. Do they still make the frozen concentrate cans? That was always in the freezer growing up!

  3. Pingback: Around the Diabetes Blogosphere - July 2013 Edition : DiabetesMine: the all things diabetes blog

Comments are closed.