Baking

I stopped baking in 2005 when I was diagnosed. First diagnosis was Type 2, then it was changed to Type 1 LADA a couple of years later.

It’s not like I did a whole lot of baking. There’s only two of us so a cake makes no sense. But I’ve missed making/baking other things – like cookies and muffins and even (surprise…) cupcakes.

Last week a friend went blueberry picking and gave me a humongous container of the hugest blueberries. I’ve mixed a handful in with my breakfast yogurt each morning and I’ve been popping a few throughout the days. They’re truly, really, awesomely delicious.

So, today I said, “The hell with it!” and made blueberry muffins. I’ve made blueberry muffins before and they were – blah… This recipe used sour cream and were/are really, really good. (Hmmm, maybe they taste even better since I haven’t had one in a long, long time?)

I used the “Say Mmmm” site to determine the carbs – I made 23 muffins and they’re 24 carbs each. I can do that!

Here are some photos and the website with the recipe. If you have some fresh picked blueberries, this is a great way to devour them!

Too Many Blueberry Muffins

2013-07-28 002 2013-07-28 004

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baking

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    Those look really good! I bake a couple times a year but try to only do it if I can take it someplace. Cupcakes are good because you can sample before you take them and no one will know!

  2. Boy – those look really great!

  3. scully says:

    No reason to stop baking! As with many favourite foods it’s just a matter of figuring out the insulin needs. In some ways this sucks because if you find a way to make it work, well then it’s justifiable! But those muffins look entirely JUSTIFIABLE!

  4. StephenS says:

    I want to jump through the monitor now and devour one of those muffins!

  5. Joanne says:

    Oh yum, those look amazing. I love anything blueberry, alas my family does not, so I don’t usually bake/cook with them since I only buy a small amount at a time. If you ever have a lot of nectarines, I have a great recipe for nectarine muffins!

  6. Katie says:

    My problem is I can’t stop at just one and I don’t eat more than 30 carbs per meal. I will live vicariously through you.

Comments are closed.