Tossing Numbers

I get the best, very best! blogging ideas while I’m in the car. And then promptly lose my whole train of thought once I’m out of the car. I don’t have a smart phone so, can’t dictate it and besides, even though I think it’s a brilliant blog thought, it probably isn’t.

I do remember that I had a jumble of numbers floating in my head as I drove home the other day. I’ve been having more lows – nothing drastic (well, except for one) – at the end of the workday for a couple of weeks. It’s quite annoying as I’m ready to pack it in and head home when Dexcom beeps and says I’m just below 80. The first couple of times, I spoke firmly to that Dexcom and said, “No I’m not!” Only to test and find out – “Yes, I am.” I have a small basket in my office with some regular Pepsi (small cans), a couple of juice boxes and some crackers. So – I resign myself to sitting there and munching/slurping until I feel/test it’s safe for me to drive.

So as I drove home the other afternoon, I tossed numbers around trying to figure out what the heck is going on. I’m still clueless but I’ve decided to fix/change my lunch bolus this week to see if that makes a difference. I eat practically the same thing every day for lunch and so – it’s not like my eating habits have changed. I’m not jogging around the parking lot so my exercise level is about the same as always. Who knows?

The 46 an hour after I got to work on Thursday? Now that one did bother me…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tossing Numbers

  1. Carlyn says:

    Oooh 46! Scary! I need to start tweaking my rates and what not too. And I think (and then forget) in the car as well :)

  2. Sara says:

    I find that I usually need to change my rates when the seasons change. For the past few weeks I’ve been having late afternoon lows. Long after the lunch bolus would be working, as far as I’m concerned. I’ve reduced the basal rate that covers that time a few separate times and it’s still happening. I completely understand your frustration!

  3. Colleen says:

    I had the same experience a few days ago with a low that kept me somewhere until I could get my BG up to a decent, drivable level. And I’ve had some fairly regular lows after dinner, prompted by (I think) dosing too soon before dinner. Sigh. I said to someone this morning about diabetes and controlling BG- “it’s all a crap shoot” and I’m beginning to believe it.

Comments are closed.