I quit

So, I quit smoking – three months ago.

I’m quite pleased with myself.

I’m quite annoyed with myself.

Pleased because I finally did it.

Annoyed because I didn’t do it a long time ago when I should have.

Back when I started smoking, it was cool (my high school had a senior smoking area) – it was cheap (21 cents a pack – yes, it was a long time ago) – it wasn’t a big deal (grocery stores had ashtrays at the end of each aisle) - even non-smoking friends (and there weren’t many of those) had ashtrays in their homes.

I used the patches. They worked for the most part – actually they worked well. In fact, I quit using them several weeks early. I changed some habits so that I could avoid some triggers. And just tried to stay determined.

And so far, I’ve stayed quit.

And I plan to stay quitted.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I quit

  1. Scott E says:

    Good job! You can never go back and change the past, only change the present. Three months ago you did just that — made the best change you could make. Be proud.

  2. Rachel says:

    Glad to hear/read/etc. :)

  3. kelly2k says:

    I am so very happy to hear this and so proud of you!!

  4. Joanne says:

    Yay! Good job… So proud of you!

  5. Sara says:

    Woot!

    I didn’t know you were a smoker and I am SO HAPPY you aren’t anymore!!

    (I’ve heard stopping really makes a difference in BG numbers, I wonder if you will see a difference)

  6. kim says:

    That is so awesome Colleen! I am so proud of you! I quit 9 years ago. It is not an easy thing to do but you did it!! Hooray!! Sometimes being a quitter is a good thing!

  7. Katy says:

    Good for you!

    That’s hard.

Comments are closed.