Thank You Veterans!

Just wanted to take a moment to thank everyone who has served or is presently serving in the Armed Forces. I’m an Army Brat – and grew up respecting those who protected our country. My thoughts are also with those who have lost family and friends because of war.

So, today I spent some time with my dad at the nursing home. The porch and halls were decorated with patriotic bunting and many flags. The weather was beautiful so we were able to sit outside and enjoy the sun, the breeze and the flags fluttering. My dad appreciated it and so did I. He was in the Army for 30 years, started out as a poor boy from Boston and ended up a Brigadier General. Quite an accomplishment for the son of Irish immigrants.

We spent the weekend working at dad’s house and I “sort of” pretended I didn’t have diabetes. Which means I had some Ben & Jerry’s ice cream – it was awesome. I spread it out through the whole weekend so hopefully the damage to my blood sugars was minimal…

Even though dad is not living at his house, he likes to know what’s going on there. I took many photos of his various plants to take in to show him. His columbines were blooming along with the rhododendrons and vinca. I planted some Impatiens and picked up a couple of hanging baskets of Impatiens to hang on the deck. The house (which is on a lake) is rented for July and August, so we had lots of work to do to begin getting it cleaned up and ready for the summer.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.