Summer in New Hampshire

Today and yesterday have been perfect summer days! Not too hot and not too cold – and even better, NO humidity. We haven’t turned the AC on, yet… We’ve lived in Virginia and Kansas and we were lucky if we didn’t have to turn on AC by Easter, so this is especially nice. You really don’t have to have AC in our part of NH but for the times that it gets yucky, it’s nice to have. I’ve found that on the days that I don’t work (in an air conditioned office), I don’t need it at home. But, when I’ve been in a cool office all day, coming home some nights it is hard not to turn on the cool air.

While visiting my dad at the nursing home this week he mentioned a friend had been to visit and what a lovely conversation they’d had. So, I wrote her a note to thank her for taking the time to visit w/ my dad. Well, it wasn’t her. Oh well, she is someone who stops by to see him so – it certainly wasn’t a wasted note. I’ve actually thought about putting a “guest book” in his room but I’m afraid that my dad would be offended.

I survived the dentist yesterday – actually, he numbed me up pretty good (or is it pretty well?) – so the pain didn’t kick in until about 5 in the evening. I was miserable and figured some Ben & Jerry’s would make me feel better. It did, but I skipped the BG reading when I went to bed :(. The flavor is “Fossil Fuel” and is Sweet Cream Ice Cream with Chocolate Cookie pieces, Fudge Dinosaurs & a Crispy Fudge Swirl. Hmm, Rob should get some of that for Schuyler! Dinosaurs in the ice cream!

We’re planning on a fun weekend – not really. One of us has to have his first colonoscopy on Monday morning. I’ve had two, hate the prep. I’m going to try and be sympathetic.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer in New Hampshire

  1. Shannon says:

    It was really beautiful today. I took my kids to the beach, a little up past Rye. It was the most relaxing day I’ve had since school ended.I think I’ll be bringing them much more often.

Comments are closed.