Blood work and Starbucks help

My day started w/ blood work. I have a doctor’s appointment next week and so – the lab work is now done. None of the listed tests said “fasting” but I did it anyway as I wasn’t able to look up the tests. Turns out the office uses their own codes for certain tests. I will be asking more about this when I see my nurse practioner on Tuesday. She is very good about putting notes on the lab sheets so it’s very possible I could have had my coffee this morning but – I decided to tough it out.

Meanwhile – my bg numbers are ridiculous (high, high, low and more high) – so I’m even looking forward to the appointment, sort of. Two years ago when I was diagnosed, the endo decided I was a Type 1.5 and told me I’d probably need insulin within 2 – 5 years. On one hand, I’d like to hang on (oral drugs) for awhile. On the other hand, starting insulin may be the best thing for me. (Remind me that I said that next Tuesday evening.)

Our small town has a lab. It makes it very handy (better than driving 20-30 minutes to the hospital) and it opens at 7:30 AM. The lab tech is awesome, does a great job of getting the blood out of you with very little pain. The waiting room is small and once you’ve lived here for awhile, you almost always run into someone you know. This morning I combed the hair, brushed the teeth and put a hat on – naturally there was someone there I knew, and of course, she was perfectly dressed as she was going to work (at our local bank) after her therapy. Oh well, now she knows just how grungy I can look.

Meanwhile – my dad is doing fine. My brother and his family will be staying up here this week and he’s looking forward to seeing them. I truly hope they get over to the nursing home each day, even if it’s just a short visit (sometimes I have to nag other family members…, it’s not fun…).

We are off to Seattle next week. I have a confession to make. I have never been in a Starbucks – So, what do I order as a diabetic??? Will someone give me a hint??? Before Tuesday, please. I’d really like to step up to the counter and pretend that I know what I’m doing. Plus, I think it’s going to be pretty cool that my first Starbucks will be in the first Starbucks. (yeah, I know, get a life…)

And – The Boston Globe did an article on Kate Somerville, The Grammar Vandal. Her blog is fascinating and – – – – educational.

And – did you know that we Americans get a different version of Harry Potter than the original (British) version? Hopefully this link to a 2000 NYT article will work – Harry Potter, Minus a Certain Flavour. I think it’s really too bad it’s believed that American children (and us adults who read Harry) are believed to be unable to read a “foreign” language. Oh well. (Edited 7/28 – I think I’ve found a better link for the article.)

And – we turned on the AC today – first time this year!



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blood work and Starbucks help

  1. Anonymous says:

    Six Until Me has a post about ordering at Starbucks:http://sixuntilme.com/blog1/2007/06/starbucks_strikes_again.htmlLots of suggestions in the comments too.

  2. meanderings says:

    Thanks,I knew I’d read it somewhere. I found lots of hints in the comments.

  3. Sara says:

    I am glad someone was able to help on the Starbucks question. Not much of a coffee drinker myself – but I do seem to get gift cards for them all the time that I end up just sharing with friends.Re: Harry Potter. I spent some time in England during college and was amused that the first book was called Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. 🙂I couldn’t read the article from the link, but I read once that the first couple books were different versions in the US, but the last few have been the same. Who knows?!?

Comments are closed.