My friend, with MS

I have a friend from college who has MS. She is the only person I’ve sent my blog to. My husband knows about the blog but has said he thinks of it as “mine,” and so does not regularly read it (unless I force him to). I have not told our sons, or friends. It’s almost like my diary. But I sent it to this friend, whom I haven’t seen in years, after we began communicating via email. It’s been fun to keep in touch. And yes, Vivian – tonight I sent her your blog address.

Today she wrote:
Enjoyed your fall pics & have enjoyed reading your blog! Sometimes it makes me laugh out loud. The one about you taking your dad to a non-accessible doctor’s office was typical. None of my doctors have tables that are low enough for me to get on. Too many old offices. I think the most irritating thing about dealing with those things is to go somewhere that claims to be accessible & is not. My husband continues to remind me that accessible does not mean convenient. I can’t tell you the number of service elevators & back doors through the kitchen I’ve been to.
Sounds like diabetes is tough. Also sounds like it has a mind of its own & sometimes, regardless of your being good, it whacks you over the head. Keep up your good attitude
!


So – my thought this evening is – that although I whine that people just don’t understand diabetes, I have to be honest, there’s much that I need to learn about other diseases also.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My friend, with MS

  1. Nicole P says:

    A great post, Colleen. I put up something just for you at Think on Things… I wrote it this summer… I know you’ll relate. Nicole

  2. Yeah Coleen, there is so much out there that we so poorly comprehend. Neither is it just limited to other diseases. Think of the poverty in Africa, racial discrimination,…. There is so much we really do not understand. We have to understand from the pit of our stomach.

  3. Vivian says:

    You make a great point. It is important to have an open heart and mind when it comes to other people’s issues. How many times have people in the OC complained that other people just do not get it? Someone might be saying that about us. The worst is the invisible diseases or symptoms, I think that is what PWD’s can relate to the most and connect with the most in people with other kinds of illness.Oh, and I am so very glad you share with us, it has been an honor getting to know you. ; )

  4. Jeff says:

    Hi Colleen. Last week, I ran into an old friend from nearly 35 years ago (when he and I were just 13 years old.) I never knew until now that he suffers from Tourette’s Syndrome, and that, in his case, the side effects of the treatment drug were worse than the condition itself. He filled me in on a few more details, and I found myself almost forgetting about my diabetes for a few minutes. So often, people listen intently whenever I try to answer diabetes questions for them. This time, my old friend discussed his own very personal troubles, and the shoe was on the other foot.I enjoy reading your blog, and would like to add it to my blogs list at http://www.GoDoATEST.com. Is that ok?

Comments are closed.