ADA – JDRF

A question for those of you who have dealt w/ diabetes for a long time…

As some of you know, I did the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk last weekend. It was a great thing to do. I’ve had some breast issues that have been resolved quickly and feel that the new tests, etc… helped me personally, and so – I walked – and raised some money ($1,770 – woo-hoo!!).

Diabetes is now a huge part of my life. My question is, do you support one of the above groups (JDRF/ADA) or both?

I’m certainly not a juvenile – although my sons think that I act like one at times… I don’t have bunches of money (I work at a church) but I would like to support one, or both – or whatever. What are your feelings about the two groups? Nicole, Kerri and Shannon did the JDRF Walk in Providence, RI this morning.

For those of you dx’d as children, my hat is off to all of you – and even more so, to your parents. I was reading Nicole’s post on TuDiabetes about the old (80’s) methods of lancing and feeling extremely grateful that I didn’t have to use some of that stuff. I just don’t know how you did it – well, yeah – I do know how you did it – no choice, so you did it.

Next year – I’ll walk for diabetes, somewhere.
Today’s fall photo – just for Amylia!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ADA – JDRF

  1. amylia says:

    Awww..Colleen, you are amazing! I LOVE the photo. I really am living vicariously through you this fall.I support the JDRF, but also do the ADA walks. I did a similar walk for cancer last year and loved it. I think any support is helpful.Thanks again!

  2. Jeff says:

    We had a great time at a Tour de Cure in New England, riding with friends and raising some bucks for the cause. I encourage anyone with a bike to participate if one comes to a nearby town. We’ve also done Heart Association walks.Please keep those photos coming as long as possible, Colleen. We transplanted New Englanders out here truly appreciate it.

  3. Penny says:

    Hi,I support The Iacocca Foundation. (www.iacoccafoundation.org)I do a walk for them every October.

  4. kitter says:

    Hey Colleen,I’m a JDRF member here in Australia, and try to do the walk each year. I’ve also done my own fundraiser last year (a cocktail party that raised AUD $1500) and have helped at a few Youth Ambassador events 🙂You don’t need to make financial contributions to help out… You can be someone who is there to talk to noobs, someone who goes and helps out as a volunteer at events.. anything!!

  5. Shannon says:

    I’d rather use my fundraising efforts to raise money for the Iacocca Foundation because they’re more focused on funding actual cures.As for JDRF, I enjoy the walks and giving moral support.

  6. Donna says:

    Colleen,We support the Iacocca Foundation. We participated in a motorcycle ride for it a while back. It was a lot of fun because it was for a good cause & we enjoy riding our Harley, too! I also support the ADA – especially during the holidays with their Gift of Hope campaign. My endo is really involved with the JDRF. I haven’t done anything with them yet. But I really should.

Comments are closed.