Navigating Charities

Who/What/How to support?

Well, as Amylia said – any support is helpful.

This evening I spent some time on the site of Charity Navigator. The information presented is pretty thorough and easy to understand. I looked at their reports for ADA, JDRF and The Iacocca Foundation. I’m not going to summarize the reports shown. I think we should each check out any charity we plan to donate to, ourselves. The site also has many helpful tips on how to donate.

One of the charities we support is the Christian Foundation for Children and Aging. We support a young lady in India. She and I write to each other several times each year and I enjoy it. She should have “aged out” by now but is going to nursing school and so we continue our support of her.


In any case, our support of charities and for those of us with diabetes, diabetes research, is important – be it financial or volunteer help. So we should keep on walking, biking, writing, talking and giving when we can.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Navigating Charities

  1. Jeff says:

    Hi Colleen.Few things are more warming to the heart than those handwritten letters from sponsored children in far away lands.

  2. amylia says:

    Great that you did your homework on the various charities. I think your handwritten letters to/from your sponsee must be a lovely addition to your life, and hers.Blessings to you!

  3. Wonderful “those handwritten letters”! It doesn’t matter what we do just that se each do our own little thing to support these charities. I don’t think you can EVER choose which is the best means of support.

  4. Jillian says:

    Hi Colleen!I just wanted to stop by and say thank you so much for all the wonderful comments you leave on my posts. I am glad to be able to share my experiences with anyone, but when you leave such nice comments it really means a lot.

Comments are closed.