Telling dad

This morning I visited my dad in the nursing home. I had to tell him that his younger brother died yesterday. His younger brother died following surgery to remove his leg. His younger brother had diabetes – and other health issues. His younger brother was 3 years younger than my dad. Telling your own father that his brother died is not something I’d ever thought about having to do. My dad accepted the news calmly and we spent the next hour talking about his family and remembering the good times we have had with his brothers, sisters and my cousins. There were 7 of them, now my dad and his older brother are the two left. We both enjoyed the visit and I think he’s going to be ok. (I have not told him that I have diabetes. No need, and it would just worry him, I think.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Telling dad

  1. Vivian says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, your family will be in our prayers.

  2. Shannon says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your uncle.I’ll bet your dad still thinks of you as his little girl and I know he’d worry as though you were still 5 years old.

  3. meanderings says:

    Thanks for the prayers, it’s very appreciated.And yup, I’m still dad’s little girl but I think an even bigger issue is that he’d worry about what would happen to him if something happened to me… I’m the closest to the nursing home and his primary caregiver. I honestly think it would scare him. Sad, huh?

  4. Donna says:

    Colleen,You & your family are in my prayers. I’m glad you are there for your dad during this difficult time.

  5. Jeff says:

    Colleen, I am very sorry to hear of your loss. I will keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. amylia says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your uncle. Gosh, I hate hearing stuff like that, but that is life, eh? That must’ve been so hard to tell your dad that his little brother died. I think you’re right not to mention the diabetes–you are taking care of yourself and you will be more than fine. There are so many misconceptions out there about diabetes, but it seems you manage it well and are healthy and vivacious. I’m glad you had a nice chat with your dad about family memories. That helps. Thinking of you…

  7. Colleen, you are a very strongand good person! NOT telling your Dad about your diabetes shows both kindness and strength on your part! Collen, I think you would enjoy Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen. Check it out maybe.

Comments are closed.