Homework

Nah, this is not about doing the dishes…

Since I now have the endo appointment next week (yay!) I’ve been busy this evening getting my information together for the appointment. I use the Accu-Chek and have the nifty little machine that plugs into my computer and gets all the numbers from both of my meters. (I called them to purchase it and they gave it to me, along w/ a second meter to keep at work.) Then I take those numbers from the program, save them as a csv file and put them into an Excel file. Then I add exercise and food notes. The exercise has been practically “none” recently – the food, well, I do eat but I stick to the low carbs usually. I’ve come to the conclusion that diabetes is a lot of work – and I haven’t even started the hard stuff that most of you do as far as calculating carbs/insulin, etc.

Back in the beginning, I went to the classes, took notes and learned a lot. In our class was a young woman who would fall asleep during class and just seemed to have more difficulty understanding what we were told. I really felt sorry for her. I think she probably had some disability issues and felt that the class at that point was not the right place for her. I did say to the instructor that I hoped she would get more help. They said yes, but who knows. My point is – good control of this disease is not simple. What happens to those people who don’t have the resources to learn about diabetes? I enjoy Wil’s “LifeAfterDx–The Guardian Chronicles” as he writes about helping individuals with different challenges. Incidentally, I recently pulled out my stuff from the classes – and much of it makes more sense now than it did two plus years ago. That is mostly due to the information I get from my daily readings of the many blogs – I have to get up a half hour early so I have time to read them! I thank all of you for sharing your good and bad days. It helps.

As I posted earlier, we went to my uncle’s funeral this past weekend. A friend at work loaned us his GPS – thank goodness, we’d still be somewhere on Cape Cod without it! My uncle spent 25 years as a Boston Cop and was in the Navy during WWII. The Boston Police and the Navy were both at the burial and it was fitting and nice. While folding the flag from the casket, one of the Navy sailors (a woman) wiped a tear from her eye. The police were at the wake, the funeral and the burial. It meant a lot to all of us there, especially his three sons. We planned to spend the weekend at the Cape – we’d never been and thought it would be fun. BUT, the hurricane winds and the rain made us decide to drive on back to NH. So, we’ll have to go back, when there is no hurricane.

Another favorite story from my uncle: Back after the war, he and his brother stopped at a Catholic Church to go to confession. The older brother was in the confessional when the younger brother heard: “You did what!!??” from the priest. The younger brother (the one who died last week) promptly left the church as he said, he figured he’d done everything his older brother had done and so, skipped going to confession. I have/had some great uncles!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homework

  1. Jeff says:

    May your uncle rest in peace, Colleen. In my prayers tonight I will express thanks for his service to the nation and to the city of Boston.

  2. Donna says:

    While funerals are sad, they are sometimes refreshing when we see someone like the Navy sailor who wiped the tear from her eye. Knowing that your uncle served our country & this touched someone’s heart is truly a blessing. It touched my heart, as well. Your family will be in my prayers.

Comments are closed.