WP Class of ’44

Veterans Day, 2007

As many of you know, my dad lives in a nearby nursing home. He is 85 years old and a veteran of WWII. He was a poor (really, poor) Irish boy in Boston when one of his four sisters was dating (and later married) a West Point cadet. He decided to apply to West Point. There was an exam. He worked nights at a psychiatric hospital in Mattapan, MA and studied every night for the exam. He was selected to go to West Point and found out he was accepted when his mother (Josie, the Irish immigrant) sent him a telegram (that we still have). His class at WP completed the four year program in three years, due to the war. He graduated June 6, 1944. They are called the D-Day Class. They are a truly incredible group of men. I’ve been to the last couple of reunions and get goose bumps when I spend time with these gentlemen and their wives, and families. My dad retired as a Brigadier General. When he received his promotion to BG, my grandmother (Josie) called everyone in the family – this is the lady who never spent a nickel on a long distance call – but she did on that day.

I thank all of our Veterans for their service for our country. You are an awesome group of women and men who gave up part of your lives to keep all of us safe. I hate war but I thank you for doing everything that you did or do.

I thank my dad for being a wonderful dad, soldier and person. And no, I can’t show him this post as I haven’t told him I have diabetes. He’d regard that as a death sentence and I truly feel, he’d worry about just who would take care of him.

News from June 6, 1944…
Jun 6 – D-Day: 150,000 Allied Expeditionary Force lands in Normandy, France
Jun 6 – Theodore Roosevelt Jr receives congressional medal of honor
Jun 6 – Baseball cancels all games honoring D-Day invasion
Jun 6 – Nazi troops executed 96 prisoners by firing squad
Jun 6 – U-955, U-970, U-629, U-373 sink in Gulf of Biskaje

And so, yup, I am so very proud to be my father’s daughter. I’m lucky!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WP Class of ’44

  1. Vivian says:

    Wow, what an incredible person. Thank you for telling us more about your dad, I am sure you are very proud. I hope he knows how much he is appreciated by people he does not even know. Please tell him thank you for his service and for producing such an incredible daughter. =)

  2. pearlsa says:

    Hello,Thanks for stopping by my blog. What a beautiful post, I enjoyed reading it.

  3. amylia says:

    amazing!i knew you came from good stock! 🙂 tee hee–i know your father must be so proud of you!

  4. Jeff says:

    God bless your father, Colleen. Our world would be very different were it not for his sacrifices and dedication to the preservation of freedom when it truly mattered. He, and others like him, have earned the Nation’s lasting gratitude.

  5. Donna says:

    How proud you must be of your dad. His generation was such a self-sacrificing group. They had tough things to do & they did them. Plain & simple. I thank God for your dad & people like him who did so much for all of us.

  6. It is so important that one remembers the struggles that lie behind what we tend to just “take for granted.” I am sure that IF your father knew about your blog, he would want to express his appreciation of YOU. Since he cannot do it, I will do it. What a wonderful daughter and person you are too!

Comments are closed.