Celebrating being Irish

My name is Colleen (From the Irish cailin meaning “girl” and used by the Irish in the USA and Australia as a way of connecting to their Irish roots), and yes, I come from Irish people. Specifically, my dad’s parents were both Irish immigrants. They married after moving to Boston. My mom’s mom was an Irish immigrant and my mom’s dad was the son of Irish immigrants. My last name is very Irish, along with my mother’s maiden name. Below is a photo of the home where my grandfather grew up in Ireland.
My uncle who died this year was your all around Boston, Irish Cop – and proud of it! He visited us in Kansas (many years ago) and prepared corned beef and cabbage during his visit. I’m so lucky that I learned from him. We fixed a great dinner tonight and had great memories of my uncle while putting our “boiled” dinner together. It was fun and dinner was delicious.
This afternoon, I left work early to visit dad in the nursing home and listen to the “Irish Music” being performed in the living area at the nursing home. We had a great time singing along even if the performer’s idea of Irish Music left a whole lot to be desired. (Songs 3,4 & 5 were Sinatra, Sammy Davis, Jr. and Willie Nelson.) It was pretty bad but dad enjoyed the music.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all who are Irish
and all who are Irish on this day only!

PS – some of the snow has melted!! There’s hope for spring!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Celebrating being Irish

  1. Even though I’m not Irish, I celebrated today by going to a restaurant and having cornbeef, cabbage and carrots. Delicious!!Sounds like fun singing those songs – I would have enjoyed the Sinatra numbers.The snow should be gone by the time I return to Boston – the end of April. I live in hope!

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi Colleen. Dinner looks great! We went out with my VERY Irish in-laws (who also grew up in Boston,) and the DJ started with many funny Irish songs before transitioning to music that had nothing at all to do with the occasion. I’m glad to hear the melting has begun, and that you had a fun time yesterday with your Dad.

  3. Donna says:

    Colleen – I’m glad you had a nice day with your dad & that the snow is starting to melt. You may actually see the ground eventually, huh?

  4. Jillian says:

    Eww corned beef and cabbage has to be one of the weirdest meals. I can’t stand the smell of it, so I’ve never been able to eat it. Usually we spend St. Patty’s with my grandparents who are both of Irish descent. My mom’s maiden name should be O’Houlihan, but the family changed it when they came over to be more American. I love telling people that I’m almost half Irish they think I’m joking!I’m glad your thaw out has begun!

  5. Alice says:

    Our snow is beginning to melt away as well. Still have about an 18 inch slab of ice on the cool side of the back decking though. Good dinner! Yum! Top o’the mornin’ the rest o’the week to ye Lass! Nice to be stopping by and catching up after a long absence.

  6. Oh gosh, that house looks soooooo Irish.Have you read Angela’s Ashes?

  7. meanderings says:

    Millie, I think everyone is entitled to celebrate on St. Patrick’s Day. I really hope the snow is gone by the end of April!!Jeff, Dinner was great and the leftovers were even better. Donna, Pieces of the ground were showing yesterday, but – it snowed some more today. Sigh…Jillian, I used to hate the smell and taste of cooked cabbage. Somehow, I’ve acquired a liking for it. A friend stopped by that day. Her husband takes her out for St. Patrick’s Day as he can’t stand the smell of cooking cabbage. Smart lady!Alice, I’ve been reading, just not commenting. Loved the Tea Party photos!Kathy, The house is still there. Cousins have visited and the family that owns it is always happy to talk with them. Yup, read Angela’s Ashes. Thankfully, my dad’s youth was not near as tough, even though they were very poor.

  8. If you haven’t already read them, I’d also recommend ‘Tis and Teacher Man by Frank McCourt. They were a bit lighter and funnier. I don’t think I could read more than one about the little boys who were always cold and had to live on apple peelings and pig’s feet.I like your new picture!

  9. Donna says:

    Hi Colleen – Tag! You’re it! See my post at: http://donnabetes.blogspot.com/2008/03/tag-im-it.htmlHere’s what you do:1) Write your own six word memoir;2) Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like;3) Link to the person that tagged you in your post, and to the original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere;4) Tag at least five more blogs with links; and5) Leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play!Have a happy Monday!

Comments are closed.