I hab a code

I returned from North Carolina and Virginia with an awful, awful cold. It’s not fun. And of course, I haven’t been over to visit my dad in the nursing home as I certainly don’t want to infect him or any of the other residents. I’ve spoken with the staff and they’re supposed to explain to him, but – he forgets – so I’m hoping the sneezing, coughing, dripping will stop soon so I can go spend some time with him.

My daffodils are blooming! Finally!!



We stayed with some old friends one night. The husband has been a T2 for several years. He’s doing well but, he asked me what foods especially “do in” my BG. I replied that I had to plan if I wanted to eat pizza. His reply, “Yes, I find that carbohydrates really effect my blood sugar.” I kept my mouth shut (very unusual) and just said, yup we have to keep an eye on the carbs.

Another friend that we stayed with was recently dx’d with T2. She’s hitting it full force, working on weight loss, reading labels, eating properly and testing regularly. Her husband will ask what her meter says and when she tells him, he says, “Oh, that’s bad. That’s terrible!” So, this time the (my) mouth didn’t stay shut – and I told him to cut out the criticism as it wasn’t going to help. I also told her that no one gets to “ask” me my numbers but I usually let my husband know if there’s a problem. She just started meds about 2 weeks ago and so, it’s still a learning process for both of them.


Saw my regular doctor (ARNP) this week. I’d done the labs before I left on our trip. All is pretty good. I have to continue a monthly B12 shot for awhile. Cholesterol, etc… were all fine. After a fantastic set of BG numbers in February and March, April has gone down the tubes. And it started before we went away. I called the Endo but never got a return call. So she (my ARNP) and I upped the glimepiride. I hope it works but, I’m at the point now where I’m ready to start shots. I told her that and so, we’ll meet again in a month. She could tell I had a cold but I told her I thought I was over the worst – not! The coughing last night was awful and so today I asked for drugs. I now have codeine which usually works for me. I’ll see tonight. I really, really would like to get some sleep.

Back to the Endo issue. I’ve only seen him 2 or 3 times. He’s pleasant, seems to know what he’s doing. I asked him about emailing questions and he said he doesn’t use email as he can’t type. I’m very disappointed that he didn’t call me back, especially as it’s the first time I phoned him. He’s one of only two Endos in our area and apparently the other one is not so great. I’ll see him again this summer but then may have to make a choice to go elsewhere. Elsewhere means an hour south or – an hour north.


Meanwhile, to add to my fun —- this morning I started going through some mail and opened a hospital bill for my dad. He spent 3 days in the hospital in February. Dad has Medicare & Tricare. After 30 years in the Army, Tricare takes very good care of him. The bill said he owed over $10,000. Ummm, I don’t think so. After speaking with the hospital, it turns out it’s a Medicare issue and I was told to ignore the bill. How are our parents and older people supposed to deal with issues like this? The paperwork is daunting. The terms are confusing. And trying to phone someone can be a challenge with “press one” or voice mail.


It’s still quite chilly up here in New Hampshire. The snow did disappear while we were gone but I really, really need some nice, warm, sunny weather.

As always, thank you to everyone who takes the time to blog and share the ups and downs of managing our diabetes. I continue to feel more informed and more knowledgeable about this disease and so, I thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I hab a code

  1. Jillian says:

    I’m glad you made it back safe and sound! I’m sorry your sick though, I hope you can get over it quickly. Good luck figuring things out on the diabetes side of life. It’s good that you feel comfortable transitioning to shots if that’s what you need to do. Your endo on the other hand, may need to change. The whole hospital bill thing scares me so much. I may be young but I know what you’re talking about. My grandparents always need help from my mom and uncle when they deal with these things.By the way, my post should be working now!

  2. When my M was stil at home, she had a visiting nurse come once a week to organize her meds. Because Jill asked for the fee each time, M assumed that her insurance wouldn’t cover it and handed over $45 for a 15 minute visit.Well, now we find out that it was covered but are having trouble getting reimbursed for the past 2 years – nearly $5000.Sigh.I still believe, however, that having diabetes makes us very skilled at comunicating and negotiating with insurance companies (and other institutions). It just takes practice and patience. And yes, a speaker phone really helps when you’re on hold for an hour.Feel better soon. And have a good weekend.

  3. Naomi says:

    You could just get snowed under all the paperwork from hospitals and doctors. I’m always afraid to throw anything away even if they say, “Ignore it!” I wish there was a way to consolidate the mess. Good luck with all that!

  4. Donna says:

    Sorry to hear you hab a code. Hope it’s gone quickly & you feel all better again. I love your daffodils! I actually missed mine this year. They are planted on the far side of our driveway & my husband’s work truck blocks my view of them when I pull in the driveway. I noticed the other day that they had already bloomed & were gone. I could just kick myself. It’s always so refreshing to see them every spring. Oh well, hopefully I won’t miss them next year.

  5. AmyT says:

    Hi Colleen,Hope you feel better. So sorry for your troubles with your Dad.All the best,AmyT

  6. snd1590 says:

    Colleen, hopefully you’re feeling better! And I hope that the new endo works out.. that can be so frustrating !

  7. Donna says:

    Hi Colleen – It’s me again.You’re it. You’ve been tagged. Here are the guidelines:Once you’ve been tagged, you have to write a blog with 10 weird, random, facts, habits or goals about yourself. At the end, choose 6 people to be tagged, list their names & why you tagged them. Don’t forget to leave them a comment saying “You’re it!” & to go read your blog. You cannot tag the person that tagged you, so since you’re not allowed to tag me back; let me know when you are done so I can go read YOUR weird, random, facts, habits and goals.Have fun!

Comments are closed.