Insulin

With HUGE thanks to many of you, I told the endo on Wednesday that I wanted to start Insulin. He almost fell off the chair! His comment, most people just want to try more pills. I said nope, give me the insulin. I owe my “strength” to Jenny and so many of you. And I thank all of you for taking the time to blog and inform those of us who are still new at this.

So – I’m injecting Levemir with the flexpen. I promptly screwed up the first night. I was so excited that the needle went in and I wasn’t screaming, that I failed to notice that I only injected 2 whole units – duh!! BG the next morning was 30+ lower – wow. Last night I did the whole dose, 10 units and was at 71 this morning. Tonight I lowered the dose to 7 units. I still can’t believe that I can sit at my dining room table and stick a needle into my stomach. Good grief! If you haven’t done it yet, guess what – it’s not that bad. Really!!

The endo still says I’m LADA Type 1. My latest A1C was 7.3, up from 6.9 three months ago. It’s not awful but I want to feel like I have some control and lead a somewhat normal life. I think Insulin will help me do that, I hope.

Again, thank you to all of you d-bloggers. I know that I know more about diabetes because of you. It’s appreciated!

Meanwhile, the exciting news this evening was a possible tornado in NH. Sadly, a woman died. We lived in KS for 10 years and got used to tornado warnings but it’s still scary.

And, I’m extremely grateful to my brother who is vacationing up here in NH and has faithfully visited my dad every single day. It’s been a humongous break for me and I deeply appreciate it. I love visiting my dad at the nursing home. We usually have great visits but, I have to admit that the break of not visiting has been a huge respite for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Insulin

  1. Jeff says:

    Hi Colleen. I’m sure you’ll do very well with the insulin. Good luck with it. Remember to keep some quick carbs around, like glucose tablets, gels, or even cake frosting in a tube. You definitely want something fast-acting within reach just in case.

  2. meanderings says:

    Hi Jeff,Thanks! Yup, had a pepsi sitting on the bathroom counter last night. But you’re right, I’ll pick up a tube of cake frosting just in case…ces

  3. Colleen, I know this is a big transition, but, you have made the right decision. Congratulations on doing what needed to be done!

  4. Caro says:

    Congratulations on making the change and striving for control! Hope it continues to go well.

  5. Shannon says:

    You’re doing good! I’m happy to know you’re doing what is the best thing for you by taking insulin rather than the easier thing by taking pills.

  6. Karen G says:

    GOOD FOR YOU!!!! It’s a big step, a scary step, and you should be proud that you had the courage to take it. A big pat on the back for doing what it takes to keep yourself healthy. And I’m so glad it was much easier than you thought it would be.I’ve been T1 since 1979 – did MDIs for years and years, but was afraid to try pumping. Like you, after reading so many D-Blogs from pumpers, I somehow found the courage to give it a try and I couldn’t be happier. Thank goodness for people out their who share so openly.

  7. Lora says:

    I always thought the needle seemed so scary, too–but you’re right, it’s not that bad!Yay for you for being proactive, and for almost making your doctor fall of his chair–sometimes they need a little shake-up!Be well.

  8. Donna says:

    I'm glad you're starting on insulin & I'm sure you'll do well with it. Giving injections in your stomach isn't too bad, is it? 🙂

  9. talesofmy30s says:

    Good for you for beginning what might just be best for your future health!I’ll be asking for a c-peptide test in September because of my rapidly increasing numbers (as well as an increasing hatred of metformin side effects).

  10. talesofmy30s says:

    Good for you for beginning what might just be best for your future health!I’ll be asking for a c-peptide test in September because of my rapidly increasing numbers (as well as an increasing hatred of metformin side effects).

  11. Lea says:

    I wish you all the best with the insulin!! Listen to your intuition with it, and you’ll get along great.

  12. Kristin says:

    I’ll join the YAY’s! It’s great that you decided to make this step. It’s what your body was asking for!!! Hope that you continue to see great numbers!

  13. Molly says:

    Congrats on your accomplishment!Good for you for taking the “bull by the horns” and talking to your doctor.

  14. Alice says:

    Colleen, I don’t know about insulin shots, but for nearly 3 years I had to stick a needle in my stomach or thigh, and I’m the most squeamish person I’ve ever known. I always dreaded it though, even though I knew I could do it. But if it works for you, it sure is better than the alternative. In my case it’s Reumatoid Arthritis. Now instead of injections I have infusions about every 8 weeks–takes about 2 hours of my time and they give me a nice lunch!

  15. Bernard says:

    Good for you Colleen. I hope the insulin continues to help with your control.Sorry for the delay in responding. We were on 2 weeks vacation in Ireland and got back late on Thursday evening.

Comments are closed.