A Beautiful Day

It’s finally the traditional end of summer in NH. This holiday weekend has been beautiful. I have to be honest, I’m looking forward to the tourists going home. I used to be one of the tourists. But, now I live here and I’m ready for the traffic to be gone, and I’m really looking forward to being able to make a left turn again! Many of the tourists will be back next month for the autumn show, but that’s ok.

I have a dentist appointment and an endo appointment tomorrow. Such fun! The dentist is not by favorite. I have awful teeth, it’s been an issue since I was a very young child. The endo appointment won’t be too big of a deal. BUT – I started insulin at the end of July and have been enjoying some new eating freedom since then. We’ve had a lot of company in August and regrettably, I’ve enjoyed eating with everyone. First time in 3 years that I’ve eaten this much. My numbers look okay, not great but… – I’m hoping all is good.

Dad’s had a loopy couple of weeks. It’s hard to visit and go along with his conversations. Actually, it’s the pits and I hate it. But, he is still content, if somewhat befuddled.

It’s nice that Gustav was not the terrible catastrophe it could have been.

I used to teach and so the beginning of school days is still a great memory. I am totally astounded by the hoops that parents of children with diabetes have to jump through. It just shouldn’t be so difficult. For heaven’s sake, your children deserve to be able to monitor and treat their diabetes, with the help of a school nurse. It is astounding to me that it takes so much work for parents to make sure their children are medically safe at school.

Today I – paid some bills online, caught up on the MANY blogs, donated to Bernard’s Hyannis Sprint 2 Triathlon, donated to Allison’s walk with JDRF and took a lovely long nap in the sunshine.

Back to work and reality tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beautiful Day

  1. Karen G says:

    Good luck on your appointments today. I hear you about the dentist – I so HATE going. I’m sure your endo appt will be just fine – sounds like you numbers have been good. And if not, don’t beat yourself up over it. Just move on from here and do better next time, okay?Secretly, I’m glad to say good-bye to summer too!!

  2. Lora says:

    Must be that time of year–I just got back from the dentist about an hour ago! I’m always amazed how stiffly I hold myself when I’m there–I actually get an ab workout because I’m clenching all my muscles so tightly. And all I had today was a cleaning and a check-up! The next crown comes next month. Yuck, yuck, yuck. I sympathize and send you good dental (and endo!) vibes…

  3. Donna says:

    Sorry I’m late. I hope everything went well with the endo and the dentist. I hate going to the dentist, too.

Comments are closed.