No cavities and a pat on the back

Both appointments (dentist & endo) were good – yippee!

No mouth issues, I survived “the chair” and was out of there within half an hour – wow!

But… On the D-front, I had a high number in the AM but knew it was my own fault as I’d had some ice cream the night before. I’m back on the treadmill and so hopped on this morning for a short time. Ate my usual breakfast with no extra blueberries on my cereal. By 10:30 I was at 120+, so not terrible.

Went to the dentist – all was good – I’m always tense but I survived. When I got up from the chair I felt a little woozy but figured I’d had my head back for 30 minutes so, no big deal. Drove home (10 minutes) and walking up the steps, felt worse. Well, duh… tested and was at 65.

Fixed my lunch with shaky hands and ate. Next stop, the endo’s office. Tested before I left the house and was at 155 so off I went. The endo is pleased but noticed I was doing a 50 or 60 reading about once or twice a week. He doesn’t want me that low but maybe once or twice a month. So, I’ll be fiddling with the Levemir and cutting a pill back to half to see if that helps. He says I’m probably very insulin sensitive and so, we want to do any changes slowly. He also gave me a “pat on the back” for working so hard to keep everything recorded and paying attention to my body. (hee, hee – took me awhile yesterday to transfer everything (six weeks worth) from my meter to an Excel spreadsheet)

To end the day – went to the movies and saw Mama Mia! I thought it was great fun to watch!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No cavities and a pat on the back

  1. Molly says:

    Colleen, Great job! I hate going to the dentist. Nice job making it through that appointment.My mom just went to the sing along version of Mama Mia and said that it was AWESOME! šŸ™‚ (she’s a huge ABBA fan)

  2. Karen G says:

    Ooooohhh, good for you!! I’m so glad both appointments went so well. I always dread that dentist’s chair too! I notice a walk on the treadmill makes a BIG difference in my numbers – for the rest of the day. I almost always hit a 50 – 60 if I’ve been on the treadmill. Hopefully the adjustment in your meds will help. šŸ™‚

  3. Alice says:

    Hi Colleen, I’m back at Wintersong! It must be a pain in the neck (or somewhere) having to fiddle around with med adjustments. I feel a little guilty that so far I don’t have any problems with sugar levels. My husband on the other hand is a model. Retirement from a high stress job was a big help, now he works out like a teenager three or more times a week at the gym and is doing great. He’s even trimmed his belly and looks trim and slim. If it were me, I’m sure I wouldn’t have such dedication. The approaching fall is might nice I’ll bet. I remember how great the falls were in New England when we lived there. Keep up the good work.

  4. Naomi says:

    Ah, Mama Mia! I loved it! Saw it with my daughter & had a blast. What a feel good movie. I'd love to go to the island in Greece where they filmed it!Glad to hear your appointments went well!

  5. Donna says:

    I’m glad both appointments went well. Congratulations!

  6. Hi Colleen – gosh if I had a nickel for every dollar I’d spent on dental care I could afford a couple of trips to Hawaii.Once I had this dentist who looked like Dennis the Menace and when he’d get read to put the novocaine in he’d say “ok, now open up – the airplane’s about to land……”. Later I found out he had left to pursue advanced training for pediatric dentistry…..good choice doc.

Comments are closed.