Another Teaching Moment

I spent a wonderful afternoon with a friend yesterday learning how to make tourtières. From Wikipedia: “Tourtière is a traditional French-Canadian dish served by generations of French-Canadian families throughout Canada and the bordering areas of the United States. In the U.S. Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Rhode Island, and Vermont, citizens of Québécois ancestry have introduced the recipe. Every family has their own “original” recipe, passed down through the generations. Like the recipe, there is no one correct filling, as the meat that goes into the pie depends on what is available in the region.” Her recipe has been in her family for years, is simple but the process is most important. Before moving to NH I’d never had one of these pork pies. We now love them – but had no clue how to make them. My friend was willing to show me while she made 7 of them for her family’s Thanksgiving celebration. After getting everything started, we sat down to lunch so I went to check my BG before eating (I’m only on Levemir – and pills…- once a day but like to see how I’m doing before I decide what to eat.) She hadn’t known that I have diabetes so asked some questions and then told me about a former co-worker of hers who “must have been a bad diabetic as he has to use one of those pump things.” I explained that no, he was a good diabetic who was taking care of himself and trying his best to control his diabetes. I (politely, honest) talked about the expense of using a pump and the total commitment made by anyone using a pump. She thanked me – and said she was glad that I let her know.
The pies are a LOT of work. Her recipe is fairly simple but it takes time. We have one of her pies in the freezer and I’m sure it will be delicious! I am grateful for the cooking lesson and glad that I had an opportunity to change her opinion of her co-worker w/ diabetes.

And yes, we had our first snowfall this week, but nothing like the snow in NY so I won’t whine about it.

And although you’ve heard it enough this week, please VOTE!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Teaching Moment

  1. Kay Dennison says:

    Sounds good — are you going to post the recipe?

Comments are closed.