Ice and more ice

The sleet, snow, freezing rain started yesterday. We closed the church office, I made a very quick, short visit to see my dad at the nursing home.

I was scheduled for an internet training class for the database we use at the office, at 2 PM, and was able to do that from home (hoping through the hour of class that electricity and cable would stay on). That was the first time I’d done that and it was pretty good. There were 5 of us including the instructor so we were able to ask questions and comment.

Later in the evening, the freezing rain was heavier.

Woke up early this morning, started the coffee (thank goodness) and at 6 AM, the power went out. I called the electric company’s outage line and the recording told me that at that time there were 29,000 customers with no power. Oh-oh, this could take awhile. We cranked up the wood stove, drank the hot coffee (from a thermos) and read yesterday’s papers by battery lights.

Thankfully – very thankfully, we had a big container of water in the garage. Because… you can’t flush during a power outage when you have a well (electricity runs the water pump), unless you have more water to put in the toilet tank.

Turned out the whole town had no power.

Thankfully, our power returned about 11 AM.

The birch trees were bent to the ground.

The plow guy was here!

The sun came out and melted some of the ice, not much!

Other parts of NH are still without power and may stay that way for a couple of days.

Meanwhile, I did get some of the ornaments on the tree this morning. It’s not as much fun without the lights on… I have a “George Tree.” If you haven’t checked out his vlog for today, it’s fun. In any case, here are just a few of our ornaments to prove we have a “George Tree.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ice and more ice

  1. Kay Dennison says:

    That picture reminds me of Robert Frost’s poem “Birches” which I love . . . When I see birches bend to left and rightAcross the lines of straighter darker trees,I like to think some boy’s been swinging them.But swinging doesn’t bend them down to stay.Ice-storms do that. Often you must have seen themLoaded with ice a sunny winter morningAfter a rain. They click upon themselvesAs the breeze rises, and turn many-colouredAs the stir cracks and crazes their enamel.Soon the sun’s warmth makes them shed crystal shellsShattering and avalanching on the snow-crustSuch heaps of broken glass to sweep awayYou’d think the inner dome of heaven had fallen.

  2. Alice says:

    Every time I heard the weatherman talk about your awful weather, I was thinking about you and remembering similar times when I lived in Connecticut. Don’t miss ice storms, no siree, not even one little bit!

  3. Well, I guess you could call it a mini adventure. Glad you are safe.We’re supposed to be on the edge of something major tonight….argh.

Comments are closed.