Dad 1/14/09

My dad died this week. As I wrote to relatives and friends, it was okay, he was ready and unafraid.
He became ill almost 4 years ago, the same week I was diagnosed with diabetes. He has resided in a nursing home since then. It’s been a long, almost four years.
He would have turned 87 this week on the 19th.
He lived a wonderful life and so did we. For a poor Irish boy from Boston, he had an incredible life.
His funeral mass is next Saturday and his burial will be at West Point on Monday. He was a graduate of the Class of ’44, known as the “D-Day Class” as they graduated on June 6, 1944.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dad 1/14/09

  1. talesofmy30s says:

    Colleen,I am so sorry for your loss – but I’m glad that you have already found some peace in his passing.

  2. Molly says:

    Oh, Colleen. I am so sorry for your loss!The picture of your dad is very cool. He looks serious, but has very kind eyes.I’m thinking about you and your family.

  3. Oh Colleen – so hard, even though he was ready. Hope you are doing ok. You were a devoted daughter in seeing that all of his needs got met.Has anyone ever remarked that in the pic he has a great resemblance to Dwight Eisenhower? (Maybe it’s just the uniform.)Anyway, take care of yourself. I wish you peace and healing in the coming days.Kathy

  4. meanderings says:

    Thanks very much – Yes, Kathy – whenever looking for him in a crowd, people were told to look for the guy who looks like Eisenhower. Even more amusing, one of his classmates was John Eisenhower.Thank you all for your sympathy. It means so very much to me.

  5. asskeeper says:

    Colleen, I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your father. I am grateful to hear he was at Peace when he passed. Wendy

  6. Sara says:

    I am sorry to hear about the passing of your father. From your posts, it was easy to tell that you love him very much and are a very devoted daughter.

  7. I’m so sorry, Colleen. My thoughts are with you.

  8. Kay Dennison says:

    Oh my, Colleen! I am so very sorry. Please accept my sincere and heartfelt condolences. You and your family are in my prayers. I know that your dad is in the arms of a gracious and loving God who will take very good care of him.

  9. Karen G says:

    I’m sorry for the sad news. Even when it is a blessing, it’s still very hard on those left behind. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  10. Kassie says:

    Colleen, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I hope that you take solace in his readiness, but even when a person is ready it’s so very sad. My thoughts are with you!

  11. Jillian says:

    Colleen, I am so sorry for your loss. I feel like we all got to know your dad a little bit through your stories here. You were a wonderfully devoted daughter and we could all see your love for him with each story you shared. You and your family are in my thoughts.

  12. Oh, Colleen, I am so sorry for your loss. I’ll be keeping you in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your dad with us in your posts, he must have been a wonderful man.

  13. Allison says:

    Colleen, I'm so sorry and lots of love. Big hugs and prayers to you and your family. I'll give you a real big one this summer in Boston if you come back down for the 2nd Annual New England Meet-up. <3 allison

  14. Caro says:

    Colleen,I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Like others, I’m glad to hear that you have been able to take some solace in the fact that he had a good life and was unafraid at the end.My thoughts are with you.

  15. HVS says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dad, losing a loved one is so hard.My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

  16. Lora says:

    Colleen, I’m so sorry to hear about your father. He was a very dashing man, and I’m sure he will be missed. I’m thinking of you and your family.

  17. meanderings says:

    Thank you all for your prayers and thoughts. I appreciate your friendship.

  18. Tonyia says:

    Colleen,Thank you for your comment. My dad had been ill for a very long time as well. He also died right before his birthday, he would have been 67.~Tonyia

  19. Alice says:

    Eisenhower is the first thing I thought when I saw this photo, Hubby too. I’m so sorry your father died. The loss of a father cannot be measured in words, but I hope the burden will be a little lighter shared with so many friends who care. You were a great consolation to him in his final days, and I know you’ll never regret that.

  20. Mortart says:

    I was saddened to learn of your father’s death. I extend my sincere condolences.I recall a comment you sent to my blog (www.octogenarian.blogspot.com) last year, telling me that you planned to send your father my essay about the games I played in the streets of New York as a kid in the 1930s.

Comments are closed.