Burying Dad

Dad’s funeral mass and burial were both wonderful experiences. The mass truly was a celebration of his life. Our opening hymn was “Mine Eyes Have Seen the Glory” and after the mass ended, our music director played “When Johnny Comes Marching Home.” And, the soloist sang “Mansions of the Lord” a beautiful song. Our church has an awesome tradition of offering a meal after the funeral, and the volunteers fed over a hundred people, which gave us time to enjoy speaking with friends and relatives about dad.

The next afternoon we drove to West Point for dad’s burial on Monday morning.

Burying a General is a unique experience…
The Honor Guard, the Flags, the Band, the Cannons, the Guns… it was all inspiring.
The Catholic Chaplain recently returned from Iraq and told us this was his first burial at West Point.
I kept wishing dad was there, but then, I feel that he was…
So, this will now be a diabetes only blog – speaking of which, the numbers stayed good through everything, which was a relief. We put our gym membership on hold a couple of months ago and I plan to reactivate it soon. The treadmill has been folded up since Christmas and it’s time to get back on it. I’ll probably have to dust it first so I don’t choke on the dust. I plan to continue visiting the nursing home. There are some nice people there that I got to know during dad’s almost 4 years of being a resident.
This is my first “normal” week since dad died. It seems so very strange to come home after work after the years of driving to the nursing home 4-5 times a week. Maybe my house will be cleaner? I doubt it!
Thank you to everyone who commented or wrote. Your sympathy is truly appreciated.
And finally – trying to get the photos where I want them on this post has been an awful experience! So, I give up. They’re somewhat jumbled, but they’re here!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Burying Dad

  1. Good to see you back. Looks like a beautiful, moving ceremony.And now you will ease into your “new normal” routine without the nursing home visits.Spring will come and bring the promise of sunshine, new growth, and warm memories of your dad. Peace.

  2. Allison says:

    Wow, I must have missed the part where your dad was a general. That must have been an awe-inspiring experience to be at West Point for a burial. From what I’ve seen in movies and on TV, they’re very grand. I’m still so sorry about your dad, but you seem relatively positive about life and that’s great. I can’t wait to see you soon! Hopefully more than once this summer, as I’m heading to Killington, VT for the JDRF Ride to Cure Diabetes in August!

  3. Carey says:

    Colleen,I’m so sorry.

  4. Alice says:

    It’s easy to see how proud of your father you were (and are).

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow, the same thing happend with me. Buried my Dad an 81 yo WWII veteran of the Air Force.

Comments are closed.