10 Things

Lee Ann tagged me to earn the Honest Scrap Award. I don’t really know what that means, but I do as I’m tagged.

The instructions? The Honest Scrap award comes with a caveat or two. Firstly you have to tell your readers 10 things about you that you think they may not know, but that are true. Secondly you have to tag 10 people with the award.

Depending on who you are and how we know each other, some of this might not be new to you, although I think for the majority of you, it will be.

Five things about me is probably more than anyone cares to read, but here goes with TEN.

1. I eat no fish, or anything else that used to live in water. I just don’t like any of it except a tuna salad sandwich. Fridays during Lent are a pain. I grew up having to eat some sort of fish every Friday. Everyone in my family loves a great seafood meal, except me.
2. I taught Special Education students before there were IEPs. It was a self-contained class of 10-12 year old children. I basically had 3-4 sets of lesson plans each and every week in order to teach the many levels in my one room. There was no classroom aide. I loved being a teacher.
3. I went to (hmm, gotta count…) 8 schools from kindergarten through high school. As an army brat, we moved – a lot.
4. I was diagnosed with an underactive thyroid at my college physical. So I’ve been taking some sort of thyroid medication since I was 18. I take Synthroid now.
5. My dad loved to garden and passed that onto me. I’ve had a vegetable garden at each home where we’ve lived since marriage except this one. Living in the woods, the animals eat most everything and so I gave up. We buy our veggies at a local farm (how come animals don’t eat his stuff???).
6. This morning I watched two coyotes run through the back yard. (I think they were coyotes. They weren’t foxes…)
7. My husband and I met in college. We each thought the other was an extremely annoying person. A couple of years later, we went out, were engaged within weeks and married the next summer. We still laugh about it.
8. I could not cope with diabetes without the Diabetes OC.
9. I don’t cook anymore, well – not much. When we moved to NH, my husband took over the cooking. I adore not having to “plan” dinner! I don’t do the grocery shopping either. It’s great!!
10. I hate shopping for clothes. It’s even harder living here in the boonies as the closest mall is an hour away.

I don’t have ten people to tag. I’m not even sure 10 people read this blog. If you’d like to do this, please do and let me know. Guess that means I won’t get any award but it was fun to do on a cold March evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 Things

  1. Some days I wonder if my garden is worth the aggravation of trying to keep critters away, and I’m sure my critter problems are nothing compared to yours. The rabbits infuriate me the most, and I’ve yet to figure out how to keep them at bay. We bought some spray that stunk to high heaven, but it didn’t seem to make much difference. Last summer we had a groundhog that started lopping off the flowers of my gerber daisies, my favorite flowers. I had a fit over it. We bought a trap, caught it, and drove it to some nearby woods.And I’m jealous you don’t have to do the grocery shopping! I like cooking, and there are times when I enjoy the shopping (like at the gourmet store), but for the most part, I don’t want to be bothered with it. I don’t think I’d ever trust Jason to get the right stuff or pay attention to getting stuff on sale though, so as much as I’d like to pawn it off on him, I’d never be happy with that either.

  2. landileigh says:

    loved your 10 things! sorry i’ve been so out of touch. the mass for your dad was beautiful, thank you for the pictures. i loved hearing about him for the last couple of years. god bless,landileigh

  3. Kay Dennison says:

    You get the award! Put it up!!! You listed 10 things. If I had time and felt better, I’d do it for you! Sigh.

  4. Karen G says:

    10 things are hard to come up with – Lee Ann tagged me too and I’m afraid I won’t have 10 things to tell everyone. 🙂 Yours were great though – I love learning more about my friends.

  5. Naomi says:

    Well, I was going to tag you, too. I read your blog! Work leaves little time for blog hopping, but I do my best.

Comments are closed.