A Reminder

Tomorrow, as all of us in the U.S. know, is Memorial Day. Please take a moment to remember those that served and died so that we continue to enjoy our own lives.

The reunion with my dad’s class at West Point was a wonderful experience. Average age of the grads is 86+ and they have so much energy and enthusiasm that the 3 days spent with them was a memorable time. There were far fewer classmates than past years but lots more family members accompanied them. We did that five years ago with dad and he loved showing the grandkids West Point. The photo below is the class on the parade field.

I’ve worked this weekend updating the class website with all the photos and learned something new. I didn’t know you could embed a slide show from Flickr! I’ve heard from several of the classmates that they enjoyed the photos so I’m pleased.

BG’s stayed okay for the most part – I think all the walking helped! I have an appointment with my PCP on Tuesday and should bring logs – ummm, don’t have any… So tomorrow morning will be spent putting the numbers together.

And finally – the photo below is for Kathy – AKA Minnesota Nice.

The pink lady’s slipper was adopted as the official state wildflower of New Hampshire in 1991. New Hampshire’s pink lady’s slipper is also sometimes called the moccasin flower, the lady’s slipper orchid, pink ladyslipper, and pink lady’s-slipper. It is also the Minnesota state flower.

I found this one in our yard yesterday after tromping around looking for it. We usually have several but this is the only one I could find.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Reminder

  1. Oh my goodness gracious!! Stunning. Thank you Colleen.
    One of my friends is an herbalist and says ladyslipper root calms the nerves. But the major herb companies have now stopped making it because it’s an endangered species. I am thrilled you have even one growing close by.

    I think most of the population just looks at tomorrow as the Monday of a three-day weekend. Why not take just a couple of minutes and offer some silent gratitude to all of those who died while fighting for freedom?

  2. Crystal says:

    GREAT cartoon to open your post.
    Amen.

    So glad you had a great time at West Point. Great pic.

    Walking definitely good for the bg’s.
    Have fun logging….ugh. 😉

    Beautiful flower.

    God Bless Our Troops.

  3. Molly says:

    Beautiful flower. Thanks for posting the picture.
    I totally know how the “last minute recording blood sugars for an appointment” goes. Happens to me every time. It becomes a long process since I use about 4 different meters. (one upstairs, one downstairs, one at school, and one in my backpack) Hope you have a good appointment.

Comments are closed.