Drip, drip, drip, drip, etc…

Ok, now I’m tired of it. At the beginning of our present “rainy season” here in NH, I was positive. You know, “Well, this is great for the farmers.” & “At least we won’t have to worry about fires.” According to the news reports, even the farmers are tired of our rain. And we’re so soaked that I don’t think you could light a fire outside anywhere.

So, in between the rain drops, how am I doing on MDI? Not so great some days, wonderful on the other days. I wake up with a fasting between 100 and 110. Not so bad! I drink two cups of “lite” coffee with Splenda and fat free half & half and the stupid BG jumps 80 or more points. At the beginning of this stage, when I was injecting for breakfast I counted b’fast carbs only and was ending up in the 200’s at 3 hours. Now I’m doing the correction thing when I inject for breakfast and by lunch time, numbers are usually normal. The rest of the day is fine although I tend to end up in the 70’s by late afternoon so I’ve started having a snack when I get home from work. I’m still learning and thanks to all of you, I’m figuring it out, slowly but surely. Guess I’ll do the 2 AM check tonight to see where I am in the middle of the night before making too many changes. And no, I don’t think I can quit coffee in the morning.

Have a great July 4th! I think we’ll be celebrating in the rain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drip, drip, drip, drip, etc…

  1. Crystal says:

    OMgosh, I Know.
    SO sick of the rain down here in CNY. So sick of it. Yeah, I was positive too. We need it, keep the pollen count down, lower humidity. Right. Sun? Where are thou? Come out come out from behind those clouds!

    Beautiful picture tho. Glad you enjoy mine. πŸ˜‰

    And woo hoo on MDI. No matter what, You are paying attention, You are taking matters into Your hands. :::bowing::: Good for you Colleen. :::applause::: Keep up the good work.

  2. I have slept in flannel for the last 4 nights – getting down into the 50's and I love it!
    Hope you ge a bit of sun, Colleen.
    And, it sounds like you're adapting to the MDI's just fine. Stay the course.

  3. claire says:

    Hi Colleen! Great blog site! thanks for taking a look at mine today too πŸ™‚ I can't quit coffee in the morning either- it sends my cortisol through the roof resulting in morning highs, but I bolus for them and keep going…

    See you around!

  4. You said:
    “I'm still learning and … I'm figuring it out, slowly but surely.”

    Life with diabetes is a never-ending learning experience, isn't it? I think I've earned my PhD (Person having Diabetes) by now.

Comments are closed.