Getting better at this

The numbers are improving!

I think part of my problem was/is fear. Injecting insulin scared the * out of me. And so, I think I was using too little.

Plus, for some reason my bg goes up in the morning (after coffee only) and I hadn’t realized it. I’d test when I got up, drink my coffee, calculate breakfast and shoot. By lunchtime, the bg was high – ?? When I started testing just before I ate b’fast, it was up from the first test. Aha! And yes, I have experimented with no coffee and it still goes up. And yes, did the 2 AM thing and that’s not an issue. It felt like I was playing “catch up” all day.

The Calorie King book now resides on the kitchen counter. I certainly don’t need it for the listed restaurants as there are not many here in our area. In fact, the only one within 10 miles is… you guessed it, McDonalds.

The never ending rain is never ending. We even have flood watches today. It’s tough on the vacationers who have spent money to be here, only to watch it rain.

And yesterday’s fun – before the rain started – a bear in the front yard.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting better at this

  1. Molly says:

    Colleen,
    Cool to see a bear (in the safety of your home!).

    Sounds like you are becoming more confident in using insulin. The same thing happens to me in the morning. I get up, have coffee (or diet mountain dew) and my blood sugar goes up at least 30 points. Even though there aren't any carbs! A mystery. I've learned to treat it as 15 g carb and give the appropriate insulin.

    Enjoy the weekend!

    Molly and Dixie

  2. Lora says:

    Glad to hear you're figuring out the numbers. I was guilty of the same thing when I started the NovoLog, even after years on Lantus. It took me a week before I realized I had to actually give myself the right amount of insulin, even if it seemed like a lot. I'm trying to lose a few pounds and am logging what I eat on a Web site. Little did I know I'd barely use it for the calorie control and use it a whole heck of a lot for the carb count. It tells me exactly how many carbs I'm eating, so I know exactly what to bolus for. My numbers have been more stable!

    Also, very cool to see a bear in your front yard (as long as he's just passing by…)

  3. Crystal says:

    I agree with Molly. How cool! From the safety of your home! Nice shot tho.

    Hmmm. Coffee or DMD. I am a DMD person. I drink it way too much. But I have never noticed a spike.

    I think something is going on in our bodies as we continue to “wake up” in the morning. Some sugar is being released and we cannot know how to account for it with our insulin intake. I've Not eaten breakfast and my blood sugar has gone up.

    It's a mystery.

    The first step is accomplished though. Your fear of insulin is disappearing. That is huge.

    You pay attention. You are aware.
    Oh. And you're human. Which is the Best part.

    Continue being you. 😉

  4. landileigh says:

    Colleen,
    So glad to see you gaining more confidence with insulin. I've been doing it for 2 years now (pumping for almost 1) and even today i'm tweaking it again! just when you think you have a handle on it, something changes. you're doing it though, and we're all behind you!

    love ya!

    landileigh

  5. Ooooooooh. That looks like a BIG bear. I'd be scared.

    I have a raging dawn phenomenon and my bg will always go up in the morning, whether I drink a Diet Pepsi or not. I think it's just the body's way of getting revved up for the day, saying “let's put out some extra stored sugar from the liver so this person can get some energy going”. Only, for us pwd's, we need to have insulin to get the sugar into the cells, otherwise it just sits there.
    And, if I'm really active in the morning, like going shopping on Saturday, my bg will absolutely soar rather than go down with the exercise. The same exercise later in the day would make my bg go down. So weird.
    Well, sis, you are definitely cracking the code.
    Stay safe from the wild critters.

  6. Karen G says:

    I'm so happy to hear you are succeeding with the insulin. I think it's normal to be nervous about it at first, but I'm proud of you for overcoming the fears!!

    Yeah, that pesky dawn phenomenon will drive a person crazy, huh? Also, I found out just last year, when the CDE was training me for my pump, that caffeine will cause a spike in blood sugar. I mean, I know you spike even without the caffeine, but it might be a good idea to test and see if you spike even higher with caffeine. I now take 1 unit for my huge cup of coffee, and stay flat in the morning. 🙂

  7. Bernard says:

    Colleen, I'm glad our numbers are improving. Thanks for posting the bear picture, that is just amazing. The wildest thing we've seen in our yard is a fox.

    Karen mentioned caffeine. I've heard that as a problem from several folks. Now I'm mostly a tea drinker, which has some caffeine but I don't drink it as much.

    I hope we both see some sunny and warm weeks before this miserable summer is over.

  8. Carol says:

    Hi Colleen, welcome to the T1 clan. Sounds like you are doing really well with the balancing act. Calorie King rocks! The online version is free if you are so inclined. Even from here, that bear looks BIG!

  9. A BEAR!

    When I started wearing a CGM I found that I started to spike around 6:30 AM (which is an hour before I get up). Not large enough that my doc considers it “twilight” but it something about preparing to start the day. Our bodies are weird!!

Comments are closed.