Invisible Illness Week

1. The illness I live with is: Type 1 Diabetes (LADA – Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults).

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:
2005.

3. But I had symptoms since:
really, not much – doctors have been checking for it since our two children were born weighing more than usual – but that was in the late 70’s.

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is:
Putting on my reading glasses to read the food labels.

5. Most people assume:
that I’m Type 2.

6. The hardest part about mornings are:
waiting for that first number. It’s frequently a surprise and I have no clue why.

7. My favorite medical TV show is:
Well, it used to be Dr. Kildare but now I watch Gray’s Anatomy.

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is:
my cell phone alarm that reminds me to shoot my morning and evening Levemir. (pre-pump class in November!)

9. The hardest part about nights is:
haven’t had any bad nights, yet…

10. Each day I take:
insulin, and a handful of other meds. I have two pill holders!

11. Regarding alternative treatments I:
don’t know much about them and don’t think it’s something I’d try.

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose:
I honestly don’t know.

13. Regarding working and career:
I had my career as a SpEd teacher when I was younger.

14. People would be surprised to know:
that I worry about our sons developing diabetes as adults, also.

15. The hardest thing to accept about my reality has been:
having to think so much.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was:
communicate with so many new friends online.

17. The commercials about my illness:
make me scream at the TV even though they’re mostly about Type 2 Diabetes. I worry about the children with diabetes watching and being afraid.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is:
eating without thinking.

19. It was really hard to have to give up:
my lazy retirement plans for now due to needing better health insurance.

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is:
hmmm, no new hobbies?

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would:
I have to be honest, I don’t feel abnormal right now. Maybe that will change when I’m wearing a pump.

22. My illness has taught me:
patience and better planning.

23. Want to know a secret?
Then don’t ask me as I don’t tell secrets.

24. But I love it when people:
ask questions that show they really do want to learn more.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is:
“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” Maya Angelou

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them:
knowledge is the best thing they can do for themselves.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is:
that I can do this.

28. The nicest thing someone can do for me when I’m not feeling well is:
let me know that they care.

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because:
it made me think

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel:
happy as there are so many of us living with an invisible illness – and we’re not just persons with diabetes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Invisible Illness Week

  1. Hello, my dear sister. Oooooh I did so love Dr. Kildaire. With that little white tunic he wore that buttoned on the shoulder. Be still my heart. And, don't forget Ben Casey. And then Marcus Welby.

Comments are closed.