Peace, Love & Insulin

I spotted this on a car at the Yankee Candle Outlet/Store in Massachusetts this weekend. I want one!

We spent a wonderful weekend in Easthampton, MA, with eight old friends from Richmond, VA. It rained a LOT but we stayed dry. The son of one couple celebrated his marriage to a delightful young lady. The marriage ceremony was lovely, the reception was a great party! One of the couples came back to NH with us and so the guys took off in one car, and my friend and I in the other. We stopped at the Yankee Candle store and I found this sticker on a car in the parking lot. So of course, I took a picture.

According to one website – “Yankee Candle in South Deerfield, Massachusetts, is the second most visited tourist attraction in New England.” I didn’t know that when we stopped there.

Being at the wedding was a new experience with testing/counting (guessing!)/injecting. I did okay, not great, but okay.

Next pre-pump appointment is this Friday. It’s amusing/depressing/interesting when I tell people that I’m going to start a pump. The most common response is, “Oh, I’m so sorry your diabetes has gotten that bad.” It’s also interesting that so many have asked if I have to have surgery to insert(?) the pump. So, I’ve been doing lots of explaining. I honestly don’t expect people to know all about diabetes and all about insulin pumps. But I find it sad that they assume my diabetes is “bad” for me to want a pump. Oh well, one step at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peace, Love & Insulin

  1. 22 years ago when I transitioned from 2 injections per day to 5, the general conclusion was the same – her diabetes is getting worse. and also, “oh you poor thing”.
    I guess I would have preferred, “well, it sounds like a lot of work but it's great that they are coming up with better ways to take care of the db – let me know if there's anything I can do to help you”.
    I have grown tired of explaining. But it sounds like you are doing a great job Colleen. Patience is a virtue – send some my way.

  2. Carol says:

    Gotta love that sticker! Glad you had a nice weekend with friends in spite of the rain. I've gotten those same comments with regards to my pump. Maybe next time we should say something like “No, that doesn't mean my diabetes is that bad, it just means I'm awesome at taking care of it.”

  3. Crystal says:

    Love the sticker! Awesome.

    Been there, explained that. It is tiresome to keep explaining but as time goes on you figure out who is worth your time. Patience helps, if you don't possess it at the time, just walk away, it's easier.

    Good luck at the appointment! You'll be a great pumper in no time. 😉

  4. Kay Dennison says:

    I don't know much about diabetes but you have given me an excellent education so I know a lot more than I did. What I do know is that I don't think I have the strength and courage to handle it as well as you do.

  5. Alice says:

    Well I see you're doing more meandering here than the other site. I may have to switch links around!

    I don't know much about this pump but I'm interested in learning more since my soninlaw's father has a terrible time controlling his sugar levels. He's in Germany where his medical care is up to the government. I'll be watching your progress; Good luck!

Comments are closed.