A Day Off

Our office was closed today so I had a day off. I only work 4 days a week so it shouldn’t be that big of a deal but it is. It’s almost like being back in school and getting a snow day. Lazed around most of the day, did some very minimal cleaning/straightening and then sat with a book and enjoyed the day off.

It reminded me – after so many bloggers have mentioned it – that our diabetes routine does not get a day off. Although, I’ll admit that some days go so well that it’s almost like having a day off. Not really, but I’ll take it.

Having diabetes requires commitment, to your good health and to the upkeep of that good health. It’s not easy and I haven’t been at it as long as most Type 1’s. And now I’ve made a commitment to a pump. Hmmm, I’m sure after a while that I will think that I was better off not hooked up to a machine for the rest of my life (unless the cure happens!). But then I’ll get sensible and stop feeling sorry for myself.

I think I’d worry about it more but, there’s all these nice people that show up on my computer screen with their own stories of commitment and so we all persevere. So it’s not so bad, after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Day Off

  1. Crystal says:

    Perseverance. We have it, for sure.

  2. Everyone always says that diabetes doesn't take a vacation, but neither does breathing or your heart beating, it just occurs, so in my mind, it's the same thing with diabetes. You either do it, or the outcome isn't good. I think it's a more positive way to see it.

  3. Alice says:

    Just wondering if you happened to catch the update on diabetes and eating sweets today on the Dr. Nancy portion of msnbc? It may be possible to see it on the msnbc website if you missed it. You'll be interested in what they have to say I think.

  4. meanderings says:

    No, didn't see the segment. Almost always, when a news program is reporting on eating and diabetes, they're talking about Type 2 diabetes.

  5. Lora says:

    A day off of work sounds lovely, and with a book, too. Take those small pleasures where you can! (even if you have to blood test while you do it…)

Comments are closed.