Short thoughts and a recipe

We have to post a blog tomorrow, on Thanksgiving? (If one is attempting NaBloPoMo)

It’s raining. At least it’s not snow, yet.
BG one hour ago was 100 – two good days in a row!
I only worked a half day today. Yay!
The frozen turkey breast is still frozen, but sitting on the counter for now.
Three of the churches in town share a Thanksgiving Service this evening. It’s nice.
My photos are arranged by year/month. I just spent the last hour looking at 9 years of November photos. A lovely hour of memories.
A favorite recipe for us at Thanksgiving is Sweet Potato Muffins. The mini ones are great, my kids used to eat them like candy. (I didn’t tell them they were made with sweet potatoes the first year.)

Here’s the recipe.

Granny’s Sweet Potato Muffins

“Serve hot with soft butter for a real treat!”

2 cups Bisquick
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon mace
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2-3/4 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato (I just buy the large can – mash it or throw it in the food processor – not too liquidy…)
1 tablespoon cinnamon sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease 16-18 muffin tins. Combine dry ingredients; add egg, milk, oil and sweet potato. Mix gently and fill muffin tins two-thirds full. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.Bake 18-20 minutes or until the center springs back when touched lightly.
Note: These can also be made as miniature muffins. Reduce baking time to 10-12 minutes.

Ping Day Countdown – 12
NaBloPoMo Countdown – 5

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Short thoughts and a recipe

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Colleen. I'm going to my sister's 3 miles from here and our 3rd sister along with husband boys and new pug dog will be converging for 3 days. We will play lots of Uno and slug down the diet Pepsi.
    The weather is cooperating. I have to work a half day on Friday, but we will mostly goof off and eat leftovers brought from home.

  2. Kay Dennison says:

    I want to try these muffins!!!! Thanks!!!!!

  3. Cherise says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Alice says:

    Umm, those do look good. They'll go in my collection so I can try them soon. I have two large sweet potatoes on the counter right this minute waiting to decide what they want to become.

Comments are closed.