The Marvelous Toy

It’s not a toy, but I think it’s going to be pretty marvelous.

The Ping Pump is on. I guess for the rest of my life. Or at least until THE CURE is found?

I know that I’ll get into a routine but for now it looks like I’ll be getting up an hour earlier every three days so I will have time to do everything, slowly…

Actually, until Monday, I’m pumping saline.

I think the most difficult part is going to be getting the insulin into the reservoir. I was sure I was going to drop the whole set up. I didn’t.

Meanwhile, an old song has been humming away in my head. I used this as an “art” lesson with my special education class a long time ago. I played the song several times for them to listen to, then they had to draw what they thought the Marvelous Toy looked like. I wish I’d saved their drawings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Marvelous Toy

  1. Carol says:

    A pump really is a marvelous toy! Thanks for sharing the song…loved it. At first, it all seems so foreign and nerve wracking. But before you know it, you will be brushing your teeth and putting on your lipstick at the same time as you are changing your reservoir and set. I think it takes me about 5 minutes to change everything out. Also, many of us can go 4, 5 or more days between site changes, but you will figure out what works / doesn't work for you after you get more comfortable with the whole rigamaroll :). Pumping is the single best thing I ever did towards balancing diabetes care and life. I hope you will find the same to be true.

  2. Kay Dennison says:

    I love that song — and what a creative assignment for your students!!!!! And yeah, your new 'toy' is pretty amazing!!!!

  3. Molly says:

    Congrats on Ping-ing.
    It will be slow going at first, but you'll get your own groove and it will become integrated into your routine quite easily. Just remember to be patient with yourself while you learn everything.
    Love that song!
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend. It's a cold weekend here… down in the single digits tonight, I think.

Comments are closed.