Pump Start Survivor

I have had an awesome pump start! Really!! After almost 4 years of putzing around with the endo I was seeing, I switched doctors this past spring. Was tested for GAD by the new doctor and finally dx’d Type 1. At my second appointment, the CDE suggested a pump, which was on my list of questions for that day’s appointment. I started the classes at the nutrition/diabetes education office this fall. I chose a pump, the Ping. Ordered the pump, figured out the insurance (still not sure what’s going on with that), and last Monday was pumping insulin. The office requires 2 phone calls a day to report numbers, carbs, etc… for the first week. They also require a 3AM number each day. The CDE I’m working with has been incredibly supportive and complimentary. What a difference from my first classes four years ago!

Anyway, I passed… Had my one week pump check appointment today and according to them, I’m good to go. In the past week as we’ve talked (twice daily) we’ve tweaked basals and boluses. They’ve offered suggestions and today I learned how to do a combo bolus. I know, for most of you that’s all simple stuff but for me, it’s been a huge learning experience.

I’m also very tired – I haven’t had to wake up at 3am for many, many years. I’m glad it was only a week as I’m too old for that routine. I salute all the parents who wake up each night to test their children.

I’m thankful for my husband who has the patience of a saint. His encouragement this past week has been wonderful.

I now have a medic alert bracelet. We worked with a local jewelry store and it’s quite nice. It’s just a plain gold bracelet with the caduceus. On the other side is INSULIN.

And so, one more time (for now), I thank those of you who take the time to write and blog about your diabetes. I’ve learned so much from you and I deeply appreciate it. I hope that sometime in the future, that I can offer the same support to others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pump Start Survivor

  1. Alice says:

    I'm so happy things are going well with the new doctor and the pump. Sometimes change really is better than status quo.

  2. Don says:

    Congratulations on the pump….
    I've only been Ping'in for 2 months but there isn't any way you are going to get it away from me. I hope you are as successful as you can be !

    dk

  3. Crystal says:

    Woot!!! SO proud of you! I knew you could do it. Having the support you do makes a Huge difference too. Kudos to your CDE. 🙂

    Nice bracelet.

    Happy Holidays to you and yours. Gosh I am so happy for you. You did it!!

  4. Cherise says:

    I love your bracelet! Welcome to the pumping world. I hope you enjoy it! I love pumping 🙂

Comments are closed.