Five years today

Five years and many more to go unless of course, there’s a cure…

My D-Day was March 9, 2005. It’s not an exciting story, luckily it didn’t involve the ER. No huge drama, just my PCP gently looking at me and saying, “You have diabetes.” More lab work, classes, an appointment with an endo and slap bang, I was a person with diabetes. At that time, Type 2 Diabetes. My life changed. Meanwhile, 2 weeks later, my dad ended up in the ER with an infection and my life changed more.

I’m not going to rehash the whole experience but – if I hadn’t found the d-bloggers, I may have jumped into a snowbank and died (nah…).  I did the gym thing. We did the food thing. And pills, I took lots of pills. My BP went to hell along with my cholesterol. I was on a first name basis with our local lab technician and never had to show an ID. The endo said, “LADA,” and I started searching the Internet.

Amy’s was the first blog I found, after reading an article in the Wall Street Journal. And then I found more bloggers. And I started blogging.

Meanwhile, I was coping with dad’s illness and moving him to a nursing home.

Meanwhile, I do have a job. One that, thank God, coped with all of my absences due to D and Dad. I’m a parish secretary at a Catholic Church here in town (the only Catholic Church in our small town). I have a fantastic group of people who volunteer as office receptionists. They have made my last five years bearable and doable. The week my dad died last year, they took over, arranged their own schedules and everything that needed to be done, was done. When I started my Ping Pump in December; again, the office was taken care of as I learned to live with a pump.

So today, I want to do something to thank them for being my friends. I’ve planned a lunch and sent invitations.

If I thought any of you – d-bloggers – would travel all the way up here, you would be invited also. Because I wouldn’t have a clue what I was doing, without you! Consider yourself thanked for offering advice and support, for taking the time to write your own blogs and commenting on mine. For giving me the gumption to switch endos and test for Type 1. But mostly, for being my friends. I appreciate it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five years today

  1. Kay Dennison says:

    How sweet you are!!!!!! If I ever get up to New Hampshire, we will do lunch.

    I wasn't sure that is an anniversary to celebrate except that you have prevailed and didn't let it stop you from living and that is the key so I guess that congratulations are in order. May you have many more anniversaries and may I be here to celebrate with you!!!!

  2. Rachel says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. (And I love New England…)

  3. Karen G says:

    What a nice D-Day post (although that sounds weird to say, because it's not like any of us wouldn't be happier without a D-Day). I think you should celebrate twice – once on your first diagnosis day and then again on your LADA diagnosis date!! 🙂 And you aren't too too far from me – maybe someday we will get to have lunch together!!

  4. Crystal says:

    Happy Dversary! So glad you started blogging. I Will make it to NH one day!!! ((hugs))

  5. AmyT says:

    Hey, congrats on your Dia-versary (or maybe not “congrats”) I'm so glad you found me, and then started speaking up yourself. I'm just about to hit 7 years in May… wow! It still sucks. I'm still so glad I have the D-OC on my side 🙂

  6. Happy Dia-versary. Glad to share the blogging space with you in the Diabetes Online Community! I actually wrote a post Wednesday on my own about my Type 1 diagnosis at age 5 – no exact date known, but it's this time of year. Anyhow, thanks for sharing your story. Look forward to reading and keeping in touch.

  7. Bernard says:

    Colleen, sorry I missed this yesterday. I've been bad bout keeping up to date. I hope you had a relaxing anniversary, and that everything is well with you. Can't remember how far north you are, maybe we can meet halfway one of these days.

  8. Jill says:

    Happy “late” D-Anniversary Ms. Colleen!!! 🙂 I hope you enjoyed your day and “celebrated”. I'm so glad you're part of the blogging world as well!

Comments are closed.