Making the Low Go?

Making the low go. Tell us about your favorite way to treat a low. Juice? Glucose tabs? Secret candy stash? What’s your favorite thing to indulge in when you are low? What do you find brings your blood sugar up fast without spiking it too high?

This one is difficult as – I haven’t seen a low in several days! Not even a near low! Heck, I’m happy (as are all of us) w/ mediums (no, not the kind that sees your past). For some inexplicable reason the past few days have been somewhat out of control. And it’s driving me nuts. Oh well. Maybe if I think about and write about lows, my body will get the hint and do something lower. Just so it doesn’t get carried away!

I remember my first low. I’ve only been on insulin for about two years so, it’s still a fairly recent memory. It took me a few minutes to figure out just why my body seemed weak and unresponsive (rubber legs & brainless). Thank goodness I’d read many posts about lows – otherwise, I don’t think I’d have had a clue. I drank some Pepsi, almost gagged at the sweetness, and within minutes was more than high. So that wasn’t fun.

I have glucose tablets – still haven’t taken one. I have juice boxes – which thankfully I did think it would be best not to keep those in the car during the winter. I have Halloween packages of Skittles – I’ve used those. I chose the Skittles because, I don’t like them and therefore, I’m not tempted to eat them without a reason. I keep them in my purse, my nightstand, my desk at my office and my car. They’re everywhere!

Favorite low indulgence – being in the grocery store, discovering I’m low, and having M&M’s. I know, not the best solution but mmmm they were tasty!

When I’m smart about lows (doesn’t happen too often), a small glass of OJ, or half of a juice box does the job.

And FYI – gee Karen, I got NOTHING done this afternoon because… I was reading about everybody’s typical days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making the Low Go?

  1. Rachel says:

    The husband carries Skittles everywhere…

  2. Karen G says:

    Skittles wouldn't work for me – I'd be tempted to have “just a few” several times a day. Then when I had an actual low, they'd be all gone. LOL

    Yeah, I hear you! Nothing at all is getting done around here this week!!

  3. George says:

    Peanut M&M's are yummy and my go to when I need sugar and they are near by. 😉

  4. Molly says:

    I'm like Karen. I'd be munching on skittles all day long. 🙂

  5. the few times that I've had regular pepsi, I've wondered how people actually drink that stuff on a regular basis! It's sooo sweet!

    The posts today have made me hungry 😛 Skittles are a good idea, too, I'm not a big fan of them either– chocolate all the way for me (LOVE m&m's)

Comments are closed.