My Biggest Supporter

Your Biggest Supporter.* Sure, our diabetes care is ultimately up to us and us alone. But it’s important to have someone around to encourage you, cheer you, and even help you when you need it. Today it’s time to gush and brag about your biggest supporter. Is it your spouse or significant other? Your best friend, sibling, parent or child? Maybe it’s your endo or a great CDE? Or perhaps it’s another member of the D-OC who is always there for you? Go ahead, tell them just how much they mean to you!

*I really wanted to title this “My BS” but decided not to – I told him and he laughed. My biggest supporter is my husband, M.

Five years ago, we were in the midst of taking care of my dad, who was very ill. Same time, I was told I have Diabetes. Between dad and diabetes, I was ready to just give up. We both attended the classes together although I had to leave once and get to the hospital for dad, so he stayed and took notes. The stress of dad and my own stress were difficult to deal with but M was with me all the way.

Being the primary caregiver for dad during his hospitalization and nursing home stay was tough. But I didn’t have to do it all.

Being the primary caregiver for myself as I struggle to deal with diabetes is tough. But I don’t have to do it all.

He cares, he takes care of me. And I don’t know how I’d do any of this without him.

We met back in college. Neither one of us thought much of the other then. We went out on a “friendly” (it was, really) date a couple of years later, and that was it. We’ve been married 36 years this summer. Who’d have thunk?! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Biggest Supporter

  1. Rachel says:

    Awww – glad you have M to help you along.

  2. Crystal says:

    😀 I am grinning, can you hear it?

    So glad you have each other.

  3. George says:

    That is great. M sounds like a great guy!

  4. Go M!!! 36 years what a blessing.

  5. Karen G says:

    M sound totally awesome. Tell him “the girl who wrote about the low” says thank you for taking such good care of my dear friend!

  6. Alice says:

    Great to have a good man on your side. And I'd point out to any young unmarried woman hoping to be a Mrs., it's good to find a best friend to marry. They usually stick around even the going gets tough!

Comments are closed.