A weekend away

We went away for the weekend. It was delightful. I did okay with figuring out what to shoot for each meal. Best was pancakes!

  • Packing – did the d-stuff first. Good grief, that’s a lot of stuff for “just in case.”
  • Calorie King Book – I don’t wear glasses but need them to check the carb counts in dark restaurants.
  • Pasta – I ate it and did okay! Long (combo) boluses helped.
  • Foo-foo drink – Sitting in an oceanfront restaurant with the sun shining, I do not want a diet Pepsi – the drink had lots of juices (and rum). I guessed, pushed the Ping buttons, enjoyed it and the insulin worked.

This morning I had two whole pancakes. The carb count on pancakes isn’t so terrible but the syrup is a great BIG number. CalorieKing lists 3 pancakes w/ syrup at 102 carbs. I don’t eat 102 carbs at one meal, or even two – but, I pushed the buttons and enjoyed every bite. (and no, I didn’t eat three… just two…)
So, where were we? We were in Ogunquit, Maine. We walked the Marginal Way. We went to the beach (Footbridge Beach) and sat on the sand. We stopped at the outlet stores in Kittery, Maine on the way home this morning.


Rosa Rugosa along the Marginal Way. They smelled wonderful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A weekend away

  1. Molly says:

    Sounds like an awesome vacation. Way to eat what you were in the mood for and bolusing like a pro!
    I've never been to Maine, but it's on my list of places that I'd like to go. 🙂

  2. Molly says:

    Sounds like an awesome vacation. Way to eat what you were in the mood for and bolusing like a pro!
    I've never been to Maine, but it's on my list of places that I'd like to go. 🙂

  3. Karen G says:

    Sounds awesome!!!! We all need a little splurge sometimes – and pancakes and foo-foo drinks are just the things to splurge on. (And maybe ice cream – LOL)

  4. Alice says:

    One question about syrups: are the “sugar-free” really okay for diabetics?
    The roses are so pretty. I wonder if I would appreciate quite so much if they didn't show up right after winter?

Comments are closed.