Road Trip

We’re off to Northern Virginia tomorrow for just a few days. We’re nuts! It’s hotter there than it is here but, visiting some older relatives (husband’s) is important. If you’ve read my posts in the past, you know that we did 4+ years with my dad in a nursing home. He adored having visitors, and especially enjoyed the far flung cousins who took the time to travel and spend some time with him. We always took lots of pictures and then I stuck them on the wall next to his chair. So he was able to enjoy their visits over and over – and show off to the nursing home staff with his photos of adoring family and friends. My advice… (I know, you didn’t ask, but…), make sure to take the time to visit the elders in your life. I can (almost) guarantee that you’ll feel even better than them after your visit.

On to – the machines in our life. The husband is now using a CPAP – continuous positive air pressure – machine. It’s wonderful! He’s sleeping and even better, I AM sleeping. And then of course, I have my Ping. We call ourselves the Bionic Couple.


My ankles disappeared last week – first one, then both. Looked like they did 33 years ago with my first pregnancy. I’m drinking lots and lots and lots of water – have a new drug (I can pronounce it but not spell it), and sitting in a recliner (well, not now) with feet elevated on a pillow. The ankle bones are back (yay!) – and lab work will be done next week when we get back. The trip may be longer as I’m guessing we’ll be making more stops than usual thanks to the drug – oh well.


Gotta go make my list – insulin, insets, extra insulin, cooler (I need to order a Frio), insulin pens (just in case), extra meter (jic), snacks, water (more bathroom stops!), glucagon thing,,, you know the routine. Oh yeah, clothes, netbook, gps, distilled water (for the CPAP), etc… also. We’re such a fun couple!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Road Trip

  1. Crystal says:

    Oooo. Have fun!

    So glad you are Both sleeping. Woot!

    Sorry to hear about your ankles. :-/

    Hooray for bionic couples!

  2. Meri says:

    I always call my little guys The Bionic Boys. But they don't get it. 😦 They are too young to know who the Bionic Man and the Bionic Woman were. Have a great trip!

  3. Jillian says:

    Enjoy your time down this way! It's hotter than I don't know what. So have fun with your relatives and the air conditioning 🙂

  4. Alice says:

    Good point about visiting the elders in your life. Unfortunately, I AM the elder in my life (10 months older than Hubby). Enjoy the hot weather–we are.

  5. ~Suzanne~ says:

    Oh, I hope you had a wonderful trip! i am always so afraid of forgetting something important, like pump supplies! I am also happy to hear that you are sleeping… I can definitely feel ya on that one 😉

    I am looking forward to joining my diabetes friends again now that I am back at work. I've missed you all so much!

Comments are closed.