Another pump appointment

I was back to the Diabetes and Nutrition office this week for an appointment with the CDE who originally did my pump training with me, back in December. I knew some changes needed to be made but am still somewhat unsure about changing the basals myself. I had the reports all printed out and brought them with me. (The office can download them, I just did it anyway.)

She’s really quite amazing. I had a month’s worth of bg’s, carbs, basals, boluses, corrections and she can spot the problem areas just by glancing at the sheets. She quickly ingnored last week’s as she said the “vacation” numbers probably weren’t all that great. We discussed and made the changes and I’ll send her some numbers next week to see if we both think the changes are working.


We discussed doing a trial with the Dexcom, not so much for lows but to follow why I’m going high at different times of the day. Mornings are my worst. I can wake up just fine and within 2 hours and 2 cups of coffee (1/2 decaf & 1/2 real), it jumps up 30-50 points. She also saw that on Sundays when we eat a much later breakfast (after church), it continues to go up until I eat and bolus.


We had a great time in Virginia even if it was really, really hot. I ate stuff I haven’t eaten in years. I even drank stuff that I haven’t touched in years. (Years being since the diagnosis.) Even with all that, I did NOT have a Krispy Kreme doughnut. Mostly because I’m petrified that once I started, it would be difficult to stop at just one.

I’m attempting to do Cherise’s DSMA tweet thing and getting dizzy watching the screen pop down every few seconds as so MANY people showed up. The discussion is fascinating. I’d hop in but I still have no real clue how to “tweet.” I’ll learn, someday.
Meanwhile it’s thundering and lightning so the lights are blinking and I’m going to shut down the machine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another pump appointment

  1. Kay Dennison says:

    Glad you're doing so well!!! I knew it would come — your dedication and determination has been do great!!! I am proud of you! Glad you had a wonderful trip!!!!

  2. Molly says:

    Sounds like you have a great CDE to work with through all this pump stuff!
    Glad to hear that you had a nice vacation, and enjoyed eating/drinking some things that you hadn't had for a while.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Meri says:

    I'm not a tweeter either. 🙂
    I'm glad your appt went well, and that your doc knew just what to do for you. Hope the changes are successful ones!!

  4. Alice says:

    Ditto to all the above. Don't feel bad about Twittering…I still haven't got the hang of Facebook. Just when I think I'll cancel my account I get another request for friendship from someone I haven't heard from in forever. So I'm still there once in awhile when I can remember my password.

    Love those summer thunderstorms!

Comments are closed.