So, where are you from?

I’m an Army Brat. My mom and dad were both poor Irish kids in the Boston area, who met, married in 1948, and then traveled the world – ending up with four kids at the end of the travels. I am the oldest of the four and so, traveled the most with them.

So, where have I lived?
Born in – Chelsea Naval Hospital in Chelsea, Massachusetts
Lived in –

West Point, NY
Ft. Sill, OK

Attleboro, MA
Kyoto & Tokyo, Japan

Ft. Leavenworth, KS
Alexandria, VA
Yateley Village, England
Montgomery, AL
Selfridge AFB, MI
Alexandria, VA
Graduated from high school and the family continued to move.
College was in Radford, VA
I showed up for holidays and summer vacations at:
Wilmington, OH
Apple Valley, MN
Ft. Hancock, NJ
Quarry Hts, Panama Canal Zone

Dad retired and he and mom and 3 kids moved to Squam Lake, NH.
I got married! (in Alexandria, VA)
We lived in Richmond, VA
Moved to Overland Park, KS
And now live in – New Hampshire!

It’s a tough answer when people ask, “So, where are you from?”

‘Twas a great life, with great parents and I was grateful for all of it, usually…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So, where are you from?

  1. Amazing. And to think it took me almost 40 years to move ONCE from Chicago…!

    I just love that photo of your mom!

  2. Jillian says:

    Great post! I can not imagine living in all those places. I love the photos 🙂

  3. Allergy Mum says:

    I was an military brat as well, and the simple question of “where are you from” always turns out to be a 5 minute answer as well. I tend to sum it up by saying I went to over 10 schools growing up, so I am not really from anywhere.
    Allergy Mum – http://allergymum.blogspot.com/

  4. Alice says:

    I have the same reaction as you when asked where are u from. Born in Florida, married and lived in Pittsburgh, Pa, moved to Windsor, Connecticut, Columbus, Ohio for 17 years, then on to Knoxville, Tn, Las Vegas for 8 years. Sort of like ending up where I started, I was born in countryside of Lake City, and now find myself retired in SALT Lake City. Moving makes you well rounded, don't you think?

Comments are closed.