An ornament for today 12/1

No exciting d-news…
D-question though… Is there a way to check a soda to see if it’s diet or not???

Several years ago, actually 2004, I decided to photograph many of our tree ornaments. I didn’t have diabetes then (3 months later…), wow! Anyway, at that time I was sure that someday our sons would really want to know where the ornaments came from. Probably not but, I have the photos and so, you get to see some of our ornaments from now until December 25th. We have too many ornaments. That’s why I had to buy the great big tree to hang all the ornaments on. I hate putting up the great big tree (it’s not nice to curse while putting up the Christmas tree). We have to use a ladder to put up the great big tree. I love looking at the tree once it’s up and done!

Today’s ornament!

New Hampshire’s Old Man of the Mountain collapsed in May, 2003. Our eldest, always a witty child, called that morning and I answered the phone. He asked, “Is dad okay?” I said “Yup, why are you asking?” “Well I just saw a report on CNN that the old man fell off the mountain in New Hampshire.”

From Wikipedia:
Face-like stone formations are common around the world. The Old Man was famous largely because of statesman Daniel Webster, a New Hampshire native, who once wrote: “Men hang out their signs indicative of their respective trades; shoe makers hang out a gigantic shoe; jewelers a monster watch, and the dentist hangs out a gold tooth; but up in the Mountains of New Hampshire, God Almighty has hung out a sign to show that there He makes men.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An ornament for today 12/1

  1. Karen G says:

    What a cool ornament, and what a great idea to make a photo-record of them all!!!

    Okay, for the diet soda – I've never tried this but I've read about putting a drop of soda on a ketone strip to see if it is diet or not. The sugar in regular soda will show up as ketones!! Brilliant, huh?

  2. Rachel says:

    I love looking at ornaments – and knowing the history behind them – both the ornament itself and how it came to be with the people who own it. Can't wait to see more this month!

  3. Joanne says:

    On the soda (or pop as I call it) thing… Karen is right, except that you use a diastix and not a ketostix. The sugar is the soda will turn the strip a certain colour, just as if you dipped it urine and there's sugar in the urine.

    Does that make sense? It sounds weird now that I've re-read it. Sorry, my brain is fried at the end of the day.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I just wrote a long reply and it got deleted.
    Here is a link to some strips that test for glucose in the urine. You can drop some soda on with a straw and the test result should let you know if the soda is sugar free or not.

    I could be wrong, (and probably am), but I think ketones are different from glucose.

    Here is the link:
    http://www.enasco.com/product/SB09754M

  5. Meri says:

    I love knowing the history behind the things around us. Someday, someone will thank you for putting the in work to document all your ornaments.

    PS Omi bought us a brand new pickle ornament today! It sits proudly on the tree! All is well!

  6. HVS says:

    I've tested for sugar just using a regular test strip/meter.(I figure,as long as it reads “LOW” it's ok to drink)I am always forgetting to put the urine strips in my pocketbook but blood sugar meter/strips,I always have on me.And I don't know how accurate that is(I mean,it could always have a slight amount of sugar in it) but its better then nothing.(in a pinch)

    Cute ornament.

Comments are closed.