Admiration

From Karen
Admiring our differences – Monday 5/9: We are all diabetes bloggers, but we come from many different perspectives. Last year, Diabetes Blog Week opened my eyes to all of the different kinds of blogs (and bloggers) out there – Type 1s, Type 2s, LADAs, parents of kids with diabetes, spouses of adults with diabetes and so on. Today let’s talk about how great it is to learn from the perspectives of those unlike us! Have you learned new things from your T2 friends? Are D-Parents your heroes? Do LADA blogs give you insight to another diagnosis story? Do T1s who’ve lived well with diabetes since childhood give you hope? Pick a type of blogger who is different from you and tell us why they inspire you – why you admire them – why it’s great that we are all the same but different!!

I can’t pick just one d-person to admire.
I went searching for the definition of Admiration. Too easy…

Then I looked at the synonyms for the word for today – and that gave me some thought.
Synonyms: account, appreciation, esteem, estimation, favor, regard, respect.
I’m older than most d-bloggers, and yet, I always feel welcomed and respected. After my diagnosis (at the age of 55…) I found some info online, but not what I was really looking for. (But then, who knew what I was looking for – other than a cure and maybe the secret to making this new “thing” disappear.) The original diagnosis was type 2 – well yeah, I was 55. But then… endo #1 said LADA (Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults). I started reading where people who were accountable were writing about LADA, sometimes referred to as Type 1.5. Aha! After a year or so of high blood sugars, lots of lost weight and a lot of pills, I went back to endo#1. With appreciation to all who went through a similar diagnosis, I requested that the endo run the tests I’d read about (GAD65 and/or C-Peptide). His response – oh, those are expensive tests and my treatment of you won’t change.
 
So – I switched endos.
 
Got the test and bingo, bango I am a LADA Type 1. Told endo #2 I wanted a pump. Had to go Diabetes Education classes, again. But – with great appreciation for everyone who writes about pumping, I got to skip one class as the CDE said I knew more about pumps than anyone that had been in their office for their initial visit. I walked in with all the pamphlets, a fake pod and a fake solo. (Yeah, I can be somewhat annoying.)
 
Got started on my Animas Ping – ripped out an inset the first week – doorknob! What, me worry? Nah, I knew what to do – well, kind of… Crystal helped… The DOC encouraged. I knew we could do this. But who knew an inset change would take us 30 minutes every 3 days? (Not to worry, I got better…)
 
But – it really was confusing – and then I found the moms and dads of d-kids. And yes, I view them all with great and wonderful estimation, regard and RESPECT. I am also humbled by their children. How in God’s name can I whine, or even complain? I know what I have. I know what I need to do. The children, nope, all they know is someone is poking them with a very sharp object several times a day. The children are amazing. They make me cry, laugh, gasp and most especially, pray. The parents, well, many of the Type 1 bloggers write about their gratitude to their parents (who raised their d-kids without the internet info we now have). The parent bloggers, they bare their souls to all of us as they struggle to keep their children happy AND healthy.
 
And finally, in my estimation, the Type 2 d’s work so hard to be healthy. It’s not easy, and yet, they are optimistic and share their advice with all of us in the DOC. The T2’s who do the diet and exercise (every single day) to stay healthy are my heroes. I find the T2 bloggers amazing. I admire their fortitude and energy. In spite of the media, they continue to do what they do best, educate others in how to live with Type 2 Diabetes.

So, basically, I admire anyone and everyone who is living with Diabetes.
I admire all of the d-bloggers who write about their struggles and their successes.

I admire everyone who takes the time to comment on d-blogs (well, except for the spammers!).

But, I have very special admiration for a d-blogger who has been around for awhile, always has a positive and thoughtful comment, is an awesome woman and friend; and loves pink ladyslippers as much as I do. She’s had a crappy couple of months and has emerged from her health battles with grace and dignity. If you haven’t visited Kathy’s PurpleHaze, please go over and introduce yourself. She’s a nice person to know and love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Admiration

  1. Rachel says:

    I wonder how many of us will make mention of d-mom and dads.

    (How did I know, though, how you would make special mention of Kathy…? She totally deserves it, with all she's been through, indeed. Such a kind heart to be going through crap.)

  2. Michelle says:

    I'm so glad you said that. I also have so much respect for the T2's who work so hard. Three of my closest relatives are T2, and they diet, they exercise, and they still often have a more difficult time controlling their blood sugar than my 11 year old T1.

  3. Reyna says:

    I am grateful for you and the PWDs…it helps me tweak and adjust my parenting of Joe. Also, your supportive comments lift me up Colleen. THank you for that.

  4. George says:

    Kathy has a special place in my heart and I am glad you mentioned her. I pray for her all the time.

    It was hard to come up with one person since like you said, the whole DOC is pretty amazing!

  5. Kay Dennison says:

    I am in awe of the discipline of the diabetics in my life!!!!! I have my own chronic condition but doesn't require a lot of maintenance like diabetes does. I applaud all of you!!!!!

  6. Alice says:

    What an amazing post! With a story like yours, I would have had a impossible time singling out one or even two or three for inspiration. How lucky to have the internet community available for linking to so many positive and genuinely helpful people.

  7. Vivian says:

    Love this post. I am so thankful to have “met” you through the DOC. You are a blessing.

  8. Meri says:

    I'm so gratful for your outlook. You are a breath of fresh air!

  9. Layne says:

    “I have very special admiration for a d-blogger who . . . always has a positive and thoughtful comment”

    I love that you said that Colleen, because for me that's YOU! You are so sweet and your story is an inspiration!

  10. Oh sister. Now I am crying again.
    In addition to being bound together by db, we also go through the same struggles that ordinary living brings to us. Colleen you helped me so much when my mother was dying, having traveled the same path the year before.
    Your friendship is valued beyond words.

  11. Kelly Booth says:

    That was a great article Colleen. I am like you, I admire everyone living with this disease, regardless of type, age or even association.

  12. Bob Pedersen says:

    Wonderful. As I'd have expected. 🙂

  13. Martin Wood says:

    Those blasted doorknobs! I was wondering how long it would take before someone mentioned them. Great post, and good job!

  14. Cara says:

    There are so many people to admire in the D-OC. I'm grateful for all of you. 🙂

  15. EDONAdesigns says:

    Great post! I love how you broke it down with Synonyms. You have a great attitude!!!

  16. muffinmoon says:

    This was lovely, Colleen. I am grateful for you too.

  17. Sara says:

    I chose almost the same approach as you for this topic too. How can you pick just one, right!

  18. My grandma was dxed type 2 at 60. Because she was older and overweight. Yet she was on insulin from day one. After much prying (encouraged by me) she looked in her chart lol at the new endo and saw type 1/lada!

    Thank you for sharing that. And I too admire all of our DOC. Most amazing people on earth!

  19. Kelly says:

    Hi Colleen….I saw your nice comment on my blog and it led me over here where I’ve loved reading your entries. Your story is inspiring, and your attitude is awesome. thank you!

Comments are closed.