Letter writing day – Tuesday 5/10: In February the Wego Blog Carnival asked participants to write letters to their condition.  You can write a letter to diabetes if you’d like, but we can also take it one step further.  How about writing a letter to a fictional (or not so fictional) endocrinologist telling the doctor what you love (or not) about them.  How about a letter to a pretend (or again, not so pretend) meter or pump company telling them of the device of your dreams?  Maybe you’d like to write a letter to your child with diabetes.  Or a letter from your adult self to the d-child you were.  Whomever you choose as a recipient, today is the day to tell them what you are feeling.

Dear Endo #3,

Ok, so you’re not actually an Endo, but an ARNP/CDE. My PCP for the past 12+ years is an ARNP and I really like working with her. She’s the physician who told me that my fasting BG numbers indicated I have Diabetes in March, 2005.

I’m looking forward to meeting you next month at our first appointment. I’m really hoping you won’t think I’m a total nut case just because I keep looking for a diabetes medical person who will work with me. I’m not expecting miracles. I’m not expecting hand holding. I do want to feel that you will see me as a whole person, not just a diabetic person.

Your office receptionist has already made me feel quite optimistic about the upcoming appointment when she explained the amount of paperwork they’d like before my visit. She said you will be looking at the info before I get there as it would be a waste of your time and mine if you spent most of the appointment reading my records/info. I like the thought that my time is as valuable as yours.

The Animas rep who leads our Ping Support Group thinks you’re great to work with and said that you enjoy using d-technology.

And the most encouraging part… You have Type 1 Diabetes and use a pump.

I’m psyched. I want this to work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to

  1. Reyna says:

    🙂 I am excited for you. Nothing beats an Endo or CDE who actually HAS Type 1 IMHO. They “get” it. Keep us up-to-date on how it goes.

    P.S. Are you getting all this sunshine that we are getting here in VT? LOVING it!!! xoxo

  2. kellywpa says:

    Good luck with your appointment Colleen! I hope they turn out to be everything that you are expecting.

  3. Cara says:

    Yay! A CDE that might actually understand. 🙂

  4. Vivian says:

    So excited for you that you may have found the one. Please let us know how it goes. Hugs.

  5. Rachel says:

    I hope things go well!

  6. HVS says:

    Awesome-good luck with the Endo, I hope you two “click” and you can get the help you need.

  7. monkeyschool says:

    Good luck with the new endo….how awesome that they have first hand experience.

  8. Kay Dennison says:

    Sounds great!! There's nothing like having a doc who has walked a mile in your shoes.

    I have great hope for you!

  9. The DL says:

    WOW I am so jealous! I wish my doctor had T1!!! Please let me know how this goes!!

  10. Colleen,, I think you're already half way there, going in with such a good attitude. You go girl!

  11. EDONAdesigns says:

    So excited for you to meet the new doctor! Nice to meet you 🙂 and glad my “divorce” desire made you and hubby smile!

  12. Good luck with the new endo! There's nothing like a doctor who has walked the walk!!!

  13. So cool! Justice has 2 endos in the practice and 1 is a type 1 too!!

    Comforting isnt it? Good luck!

  14. Katie says:

    This is a great letter! I hope your appointment goes well!

  15. Joanne says:

    Good luck… I hope this one is the enod of your dreams!

  16. Joanne says:

    ummm, that should have said endo.

  17. Jess says:

    i hope you find the support you're looking for! good luck!

Comments are closed.