In spite of…

Awesome things – Friday 5/13: In February the #dsma blog carnival challenged us to write about the most awesome thing we’d done DESPITE diabetes.  Today let’s put a twist on that topic and focus on the good things diabetes has brought us.  What awesome thing have you (or your child) done BECAUSE of diabetes?  After all, like Karen’s blog header says, life with diabetes isn’t all bad!

Awesome Things w/ Diabetes

Oh goodie! I’m going to do another list. But this is more fun than what we hate about the d.

The DOC – no explanation needed…
My Ping Support Group – what a great group of people and now, friends.
Blogging – Love reading the blogs and learning more and more and more.
(However – not happy that Blogger died on us – do you think we killed it?)
My Health – I’d never stepped on a treadmill before my diagnosis.
Compassion – In addition to having more sympathy for my fellow d-people, I find that I’m more in tune with most anyone who has a chronic disease.
Advocacy – I was always an advocate for my kids. I’m finally becoming an advocate for myself, and even better, for the rest of us hoping for a better life in spite of diabetes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In spite of…

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I never would have stepped on a treadmill either if it wasn’t for D.

    Here I thought Blogger was back when I saw your name show up in the list. I did not realize you had moved until I went to leave the comment.

  2. Pearlsa says:

    Compassion and advocacy are due to diabetes for me to.

  3. I agree – it’s weird how having diabetes gains you almost better health?

    and yes, the DOC are awesome!

  4. Liz says:

    I’m grateful to have met so many new friends from the DOC! That is definately one of the most awesome things that D has brought to me!!!! I look forward to getting to know you better and will be a regular reader 🙂

  5. Joanne says:

    Yup, love me some DOC! Hope the new digs work out for you… I’m a little ticked at blogger right now.

  6. Vivian says:

    Love your list and I love that you are advocating for yourself. You are a gem and I look forward to hearing what you have to say for a very long time.

  7. Lauren says:

    Love your list! I also said the DOC. Means to much!

  8. Minnesota Nice says:

    Very thoughtful points, Colleen. I was madder than a hornet last night when Blogger conked.

  9. Jess says:

    great list, colleen! it’s hard to step up and learn to advocate for yourself. i still struggle with that one sometimes. other people, i’m all over it though! don’t you mess with my peeps! 😉

  10. monkeyschool says:

    I am so glad to be able to read all these blogs and learn more about the DOC….I simply can’t believe how many people are out here putting their voices out and sharing experiences.

    I have to get on my treadmill more…it’s been neglected for a while.

Comments are closed.