Well, darn…

This month I see Endo #3 (for visit #2) and my PCP. (Why the caps? I don’t know. I capitalized Endo and then didn’t capitalize PCP. Then I wondered why. I like them both and have been seeing the PCP since 1999. So, went back and did the caps, which is somewhat of a pain but I want to show that my PCP is just as important, if not more, to me as my Endo. Does it matter? No. Do you care? Not if you’re smart but, I’m blithering…)

So – visited the lab last Friday morning.

And got the results today.

The A1c is not sucky but it went up .2. I’m bummed. I know, I know. It’s just a number but while opening the envelope I was doing the silent prayer thing, “Please, please, please – just a drop of a tenth would make me happy.” It’s below 8 and above 6 so it’s not awful, awful, awful – just a little disappointing.

I started using a DexCom on July 2. (The photo is the last 24 hours…) We’re not exactly best friends yet. I’m doing better at waking up if DD (uh, darn dexcom) does its shake, rattle and whatever in the middle of the night but… I don’t trust it. When it’s good, it’s very, very good. But when it’s bad, it’s really rotten. Am I the ONLY one whose A1c went up after starting a CGMS? Please tell me no.

So – it’s fall, you know – new beginnings and all that, and I’ll see what I can do to keep the stupid bg’s in line for the next 3 months.

It should also help once we stop eating the yummy, simply delicious corn on the cob from the farm down the road! And yeah, get back on the gasp! treadmill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Well, darn…

  1. Reyna says:

    Seriously LOVED the “blithering” at the top. Is that what I am doing on Beta Buddies 1/2 the time? LOL.

    AND…no, you are not the only one. I think what happens with the CGM is that we are able to head off lows … which in the end may cause a bump in your A1C. Keep at it. Chin up. I am dreading Joe’s Endo appt…I think it is in a couple of weeks. Due to this new found “independence” we have been running him a bit higher (for safety reasons) and I am sure I am gonna fall into an A1C depression after the result hits. LOVE YOU!

  2. Karen G says:

    I am RIGHT there with you. My endo appointment is coming soon and I need to get my blood drawn next week and I’m DREADING it!!! I know my A1C will go up. I know it’s my fault, I’ve been sloppy and lazy and eating more than I should and not getting on that stupid treadmill. I even had a dream about my appointment and my higher A1C. Ugh.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I know exactly how you feel and I feel that way too. And that it’s okay to head in the wrong direction sometimes. Just keep working at it!! 🙂 Hugs!

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    I agree with Reyna, our A1cs go up with the Dex because we are heading off lows. Although we might still have some, we catch them before they get too low. Like Karen, I need to go for a new A1c and I am dreading it also!

  4. I think my PCP is at the hub of the wheel. I too have had a long-term relationship and hope he doesn’t plan on retiring soon.

  5. Colleen, my last A1C was 7.1 which SHOCKED me. I’d expected 7.6ish. I’m sure I’ve told you that I think calibrating the Dexcom is essential for better results. When I switched from an old OneTouch to the WaveSense Jazz (a New Hampshire company) my A1C dropped about 0.5%. Jazz strip copays are higher, though they’re not too bad over the counter, I think the extra cost is worth it for the accuracy. Remember just my opinion.

Comments are closed.